Happy New Year


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Surat Thani
April 24th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Surat ThaniSurat ThaniSurat Thani

This is where we stayed on th way back from Sonkram
Happy New Year to you all, the year is now 2552 and Ive had a lotta fun celebrating.

I was Invited by my Muay Thai trainer Chin to his home in Nakon Si to celebrate New Year and his daughter Em's birthday. I wasn't sure what to expect as these situations always have a tendency to shock you. We arrived at his is Home (or should I say Homes) in the back of a pick up truck, his houses are sorounded by rubber trees which he also owns and farms. We where given a private house to use for the following days. His family where very lovely and looked after me well, too well if anything, and helped me improve my Thai by not speaking more than 3 words of English (by the way my Thai is getting impressive).

So Thai new year...................... its a water festival, the day is spent getting wet and smearing a strange coloured substance on each others skin?! After splashing cars and pouring beer down peopls necks for the first part of day, we filled a bin full of water all got on the back of a pick up a drove to the
Body PaintBody PaintBody Paint

Painting for another full moon party
city. We where the only 3 white people there!!!! So we where big targets but it was all in good spirit. There was more beer and wet dancing in the street. When the sun goes down the karoke starts and outcomes the whiskey. The rest you can imagine. If only we could party like that in Blighty becuase it was the best new years ive been too.

On the way back from Chins home we stopped in the mountains by a lake to relax before going back to training. it was untouched and beutiful, and I think I may have to return. we didnt DO a lot there but it was beutiful, but you can judge for yourselves.

On the boat back I was doing the whole, hello where are you from thing as I do. I ended up making freinds and giving them a lift to where I stay, this time with them in the back and me driving (in Thailand this is a sign of honor LOL). We have since formed a very good freindship with eachother as you will be able to see from the pictures. We spent another full moon together with a guest
BBQBBQBBQ

Another Full moon BBQ on the beach
apperance from CJ who is fine and well.

Not sure what the future holds but Im back home, and as soon as something happens I will report back.

PS, if you see CJ ask him about the bar I work at, you will be impressed.





Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

FreindsFreinds
Freinds

Me and Stephanie
SongkranSongkran
Songkran

Inside our house we lived in at Nakon Si
SongkramSongkram
Songkram

Our own private house
SongkramSongkram
Songkram

Music being set up outside our house
Em, Chins daughterEm, Chins daughter
Em, Chins daughter

Her birthday was on Songkram
SongkramSongkram
Songkram

Waiting for the cars and motrobikes to pass so we can soak them and pour beer down there necks
Surat ThaniSurat Thani
Surat Thani

My hut in the Surat Thani mountains
Surat ThaniSurat Thani
Surat Thani

The veiw from my bedroom, which was outside


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb