I had to come all the way to thailand to go outdoor climbing


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
October 7th 2006
Published: October 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well i had to come to thailand to finally do some outdoor climbing, i had always picked rainy days or people just didn't find time but now i have done it and it is great. I climbed today from 9 till 2 and did 6 and a half climbs the hardest i completed was a 5-10b (im out of shape) and the half a climb was on a 5-10c (it was my 5th climb of the day and i was getting pretty tired) i know that wont mean a lot to a lot of people but my friends that climb will know what im talking about. Oh yah and i almost decked on one of the climbs because they use not the guides to bellay you but the people who also signed up for the climbing and the guy wasn't paying attention and wasn't tightening the rope enough and i fell 20ft and was dangling 8ft off the ground (close one but it happens, dont worry im being carefull although that really doesn't sound like it but hey it wasn't my fault) i then had a nice hot shower ( i am currently spoiling myself and got a nice hotel room $20 a night instead of the usual $5-10 i usually pay for a room ) then i went walking and it is suprising how much the tide moves here the difference between low tide and high tide is a couple hundred feet or more, you can walk around the huge rock spires its really neat, plus there is lots of tide pools with sea cucumbers and crabs and little fish. Well i think this place is my favorite so far (but ko tao runs a close second) and you can probably see why from the pics.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



8th October 2006

Climbing...
Trev.... That rocks!!!! Wish I was there. We are going to have to hook up and do some outdoor stuff next summer once we finish these degrees! When I say I wish I was there I really mean it as I am currently I'm sitting in the back of the ETLC under fluorescent lights. Cheers!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb