Leading my first 5b


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
May 14th 2012
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After watching an amazing sunset, as usual I'm back at Copacabana bar I meet Jess and Pete who invite me to climb with them the following day.



A couple from England Pete is a born Aussie who grew up in Australia and is returning to his roots whilst Jess, his long term girlfriend is an English girl who has always wanted to visit Australia. They turn out to be awesome climbing partners and I'm disappointed that I'm heading to Europe whilst they head for serious climbing in the Blue Mountains and beyond.



We take a few routes along "1, 2, 3 wall" and I manage to conquer a 6b on top rope.



After leading a few 4's and a couple of 5a's I'm ready to step it up a notch and give a 5b a go.



I'm back in panic mode again. The bolts are a lot further apart and my legs are back to doing the Elvis even though I've completed this same route twice on top rope without falling.

My fingers are sweating I can barely hold the rope as I clip into the next bolt but I persevere.



Just when I feel like the show is all over I've made it the the final bolt. Hurrah.



We celebrate with frozen watermelon shakes... Mmmm.



In the afternoon I practice repelling with Nueng and some final techniques before I head off to watch the sunset with Jess and Pete.



An awesome finish to the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb