Stealthy Monkeys, Spoilt Beaches and the departure from Railay


Advertisement
Published: October 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Despite my love of Railay, not wanting to leave and Alina's convincing me to stay its time to leave Railay Beach.

I decide to venture out the next day to see a little bit more of Thailand whilst I'm here.

I take the one day tour to Ko Phi Phi and leave for Krabi in the evening.

The island, which Leonardo Di Caprio brought to the lime light in his movie "The Beach" is a a sad site for what it used to be many eons ago. About 20 boats with over 100 tourists visiting the island like I did in low season and who knows how many there'll be during high season.

Unfortunately there isn't a big policing on the rubbish that tourists bring with them and as a result big piles of rubbish float around the inlets of the beach made famous by the movie.

Were given 30 minutes to explore before heading off for a snorkel in the waters nearby.

Despite the amount of pollution I'm surprised with the abundance of fish life under the water.

Sure the coral is all bleached and destroyed but there is still a lot of fish to be seen under the water.

Lunch is in a big all you can eat cafeteria style hall on the main island of Ko Phi Phi.

Back on the boat after lunch we manage to pick up some monkeys who are also looking for a feed, who manage to jump on our food, ransack every corner for food before jumping back into the water and swimming to shore.

The best part of the tour is the last island of the day where me and Jess and Pete are trying to take photos with each other we ask a Chinese man to take the photo.

Before we know it he gives the camera to Pete and jumps into the photo with us. His daughter spots him wants in on the action and she jumps in with us making dad take photos.

Then his wife comes along and decides she wants to be in the photo too and before we know it we can't stop laughing as we're all taking photos together.

I say Xexia (thank you in Chinese) and the daughter is really pleased. We end up taking a shot together with Pete holding the camera.

The end of the tour rain begins and I hug my sorry goodbyes with Jess and Pete as the boat drops off passengers at Railay West beach.

I'm taken to Ao Nang where I grab the local bus to Krabi. After checking into a guest house for a measly 150 baht or less then 5AUD per night I head to the night markets for some dinner and delicious mangosteen.

I meet An over dinner from Singapore who has managed to ride his single speed bike here from Singapore. The trip, having taken him 9 days has taken him through beautiful villages and left him with lasting impressions.

I'm reminded if the trip I made to from Vietnam to Cambodia by bike over 4 years ago and I reminisce about possible future long distance bicycle trips.

Through Australia?

South America?


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb