The Waters of Railay Coast


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Railay
February 28th 2010
Published: March 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 28th February 2010



My final day in Krabi took me to the waters of Railay, a coastal peninsula about 15 minutes ride on the long tail boat from Ao Nang. Railay Beach was certainly stunning with its crystal clear blue waters and white sands which in my opinion could give Maldives a run for their money. However, the beach culture certainly did not appeal to me. Probably, the hot weather had an important part to play. Growing up in the tropics, we are already too accustomed to the hot sun and to the many beaches nearby. Certainly, the beach culture did not carry the same kind of excitement other travellers raved about.

I probably spent an hour at Railay before hailing a long tail boat back to Ao Nang. By then, my slippers had already given way and I had to pay 220 baht for a replacement (after a 30 baht discount). For Ao Nang is no shopping paradise and things are relatively more expensive compared to Bangkok.

My idea of a perfect vacation would be one that involves soaking up in the local culture. Probably a visit to the museums to learn more about the history. Krabi did not really fit into this category even though I’m still thankful for being able to give my sleep-deprived body a complete rest during the 4 days I was there.

For now, it's back to reality Singapore again even though that would not be for long. =)


Air Tickets: $217
Accomodation: $116
Transportation: $39
Massage: $26.60
Cooking Class: $43
Food and Shopping: $80

Total: $522

1 SGD = 23.30 Baht






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb