Reboot


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
March 9th 2017
Published: July 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 7.97501, 98.3515

We are doing nothing.





We are not taking any boat trips or excursions; we are simply hanging out in this calm, quiet spot. Nice big room, AC, swimming, eating, reading, washing laundry, catching up on our lives through great Internet. Good sleeps, nice meals. It has been awhile.

And part of our reboot in Panwa, Phuket, Thailand is to jettison unnecessary baggage as we realized that the 15kg that discount airlines allow is a lot less than what we are carrying and very costly to pay the extra fees. I had been trying to reduce my baggage by giving away a little of this and that...a small leather backgammon game went to Si Thu in Mandalay, some medications and markers went to a couple in Pyin Oo Lwin who do volunteer work.

But here, I got serious. I leave my yoga mat, water shoes, some toiletries and anything I can do without (1.2kg). We also sent a package home with things we aren't ready to part with (5.2kg). I sure hope my Tarot cards make it safely back to Nova Scotia in the 2-3 months they said it would take! And you ask, "why is she carrying her Tarot cards around the world?"

There is no good answer for that. But I will tell you, that my older sister can attest to this as a lifelong struggle of mine; that being neat and trying to be clutter-free eludes me. The good news is for at least 30 years, I progress every year in very tiny increments.And this is my 2017 increment.

Travel is an excellent teacher.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



9th March 2017

Hi Donna and Jim, As always, I'm enthralled by your scintillating commentary and breathtaking photos. Vicariously, I am enjoying visiting exotic places. Regards, Peter (Head of St. Margarets Bay - my place of residence, not my title)
9th March 2017

Hello Donna and JimWe are enjoying your blog and following your travels. We stayed at By the Sea in 2015. You are most likely aware, that there are two lovely beach restaurants a short walk, to the left, down the beach. Good food, reasona
ble prices and a great view of the sunset. Sue and Ben
9th March 2017

I share your pain with excess baggage...so hard to shed it! But when it hits you in the pocketbook, it hits too deep! I loved your Myanmar village pictures.
9th March 2017

Wow Great news I hope your luggage is the appropriate weight from now on.Once again thanks for sharing your travelsYour process sounds like it has begun, declutter, minimize .Congratulations Donna xx

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb