The Eye of the Storm pt.2 - Phuket, Thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
February 7th 2017
Published: January 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Another two hour ferry ($250b) led me to Phuket on the far western Andaman coast here in Thailand. Phuket is known as the Las Vegas of Thailand or the "Sin City" if you will. I'm not even sure why I came here as usually massive nightclubs with techno beats are not usually my thing. I guess I just wanted to see the show. Phuket is quite large and as I arrived at the pier I had no idea on how I would get to the west coast resort town of Patong some 8km away. The taxis of course wanted a ridiculous $500b for the ride. As per my usual policy I side-stepped them and the other tourists and walked into Phuket Town 2km away. Once there a friendly local drew me a map to the bus terminal where I was able to secure public transport for $40b to Patong. My skills are still sharp even here in Thailand. After I found a room I welcomed myself into the chaos that is Phuket.

I'm not going to write much of anything about Phuket. Overall it was a chaotic mess that reminded me of Kuta, Bali and Surfer's Paradise, Australia. The beaches were so crowded with a vast maze of sun chairs and umbrellas you could not even walk down them. I guess the majority of people do not come for the sunshine though and when the night enveloped skyline the city came to life. I decided not to fight the flashing lights and the blaring music and after two long nights and two sunrises I pulled myself out of the doldrums and abandoned Phuket for more docile surroundings with nothing to show but an aching head, a dent in my wallet, and some pretty killer tall tales. None of which will be shared on this forum. You'll just have to ask me someday.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

The BusThe Bus
The Bus

Phuket


Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 29; qc: 110; dbt: 0.2077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb