Monkeying around


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
March 22nd 2016
Published: March 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

We both awoke with stomach distress... And we are going to the Phi Phi islands sweet Jesus let's hope it doesn't turn into the Poo Poo islands! We slammed xbreakfast and Imodium and Dramamine and cautiously head to the pier. We hop on the boat and I scan for a bathroom.... I can't confirm. Worry worry ,worry. What will they do with us if we have an attack of diarrhea? Make us dive off the boat? Possible scenarios go through my head, none good. I am happy to report that all medications did the trick and we were good to go... Or not go as the case may be. We drove across the water for about an hour until we reached a snorkeling site. We all jumped out, about 13 people, the water clear, warm, beautiful and jelly fish free water . Cute little Nemo looking fish, rock formations shooting straight out of the Andaman sea from what looked like no where.
A couple more snorkeling sites and they brought us to "the cove " which had about 30 boats and countless people inhabiting the beach. We all protested and they whisked us away to a quieter spot. After that we went to monkey beach, where we would have a chance to see monkeys! I am beyond excited! We get off the boat and along with about a dozen tourists there are about a dozen monkeys! They are wild we are warned, don't feed them we are told or they can get aggressive. Dave suggests I leave my necklace in his pocket, good move. I bring my camera but after that naughty monkey at ENP stole my phone I am a little wary. Well it takes the monkeys all of about 3 minutes to feel my monkey love and start climbing up me. I think I had about 4 monkeys on me at one point, and I can't help laugh and laugh! They are so soft and sweet, took my head band off and tried to put it back on my head. One monkey was holding my arm and his friend was hanging off his tail! (Like that barrel of monkeys game) a monkey would shimmy up your leg, using you bathing suit to pull himself up to where ever he wanted to land, it was so much fun! We stayed for about 25 minutes, perfect amount of time with those crazy little creatures. One more stop and then made our way back home. We took a quick nap and walked the beach, full moon, dinner at a yellow tin table this time, a whole coconut cut with a straw to get the water, yummy! We had head on fish and Dave said it was the second best fish he'd ever had (the Mahi my brother caught still takes first place) another day in paradise!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb