Nai Yang (22-23 Feb 15)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
February 22nd 2015
Published: February 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Nai Yang BeachNai Yang BeachNai Yang Beach

Much, much fewer people than the ones further down south.
I have an early morning flight to catch before the shared minibuses start running from Patong to the airport, but I refused to charter a private taxi from the Phuket mafia which would have cost nearly as much as the flight itself. So my solution was to spend the night somewhere close to the airport, so that I could just hoof it there the next morning. Conveniently, the quiet beach of Nai Yang served this purpose, though I hadn't counted on the ongoing high season unexpectedly jacking up accommodation rates for my single night's stay (THB1000!). I definitely busted the budget on housing on this one, and the savings I earned from stiffing the Phuket taxi mafia and going public instead almost entirely evaporated with the extra I paid compared to an additional night back in Patong. Then again, I did get a nice room albeit for only one night,and it did give me an opportunity to check out what must surely be an often-missed area of Phuket, with its quieter beach and lower-key beachfront restaurants. The sighing, setting sun on my final evening in Phuket was also cause for some contemplative reflection, as I pondered over my imminent departure from this (touristy) island paradise...

Stayed at Udom Bungalows.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Dinner @ Nai Yang BeachDinner @ Nai Yang Beach
Dinner @ Nai Yang Beach

Geng Khiaw Waan (Green Curry) & Chang. Don't think you need much more here in beautiful Phuket.
Patong-Nai YangPatong-Nai Yang
Patong-Nai Yang

Highway across the island - not just about the beaches.
Sunset @ Nai Yang BeachSunset @ Nai Yang Beach
Sunset @ Nai Yang Beach

Growing out the facial hair.


Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 15; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb