Patong, Phuket...boy has this place changed


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 10th 2013
Published: November 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Never really clicked with Thailand. This is my third time here in 25 years. Each time for some reason I make the same mistake and come to Phuket 😊 Gee and I thought the place was corrupted, over-crowded and ruined in 1989???

It was really a spur of the moment thing just taking advantage of a cheap flight from Penang with Firefly airways.

Thailand is a strange beast to me. The people here (Phuket) are jaded about foreign tourists, which is understandable. I geuss if you love holidaying and hanging with westerners then you'd love it here - theres plenty here both holidaying and living. I don't really see how its possible to connect with local people given I speak no Thai language. Thai language is a beast I'm not really inspired to tackle. I don't actually find them that friendly, in comparison to say Indonesian, malay, Philipino - maybe its the language barrier. Harsh but its my feeling/perspective. We live in Bengkulu, Sumatra and I can honestly say the people are ridiculously friendly there 😊 If you use an analogy of cats and dogs - Indonesians are puppy dogs (playful, in your face, eager to please, loyal) and Thai people are cats (ambivalent, guarded, secretive and only loving when they want something). I'm a dog person..

The beach is still nice after all these years. Unfortunately the hotel we booked through agoda is about a 20min walk, most of it through stinking, muddy roadworks.

Even Thai food, which was was exotic/new/exciting back in the 90s has lost its allure. Really overpriced. Bad sex tourism trade happening everywhere. naaah pass. won't be back.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb