Day 2 - "Welcom al foks - we spik Inglish"


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
March 21st 2012
Published: March 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Busy day today! We just got home (8 pm) and now everyone is eating dinner in my parents' bedroom.

The day started around 9 when Kaja and Kia decided to burst into our room for an unwelcome wakeup call. After the complimentary breakfast, we rode the bus down to Patong Beach, which was about 5 minutes away. Looking from the beach on one side to the street vendors on the other, we decided to shop while the sun was at its warmest and then go to the beach a little later than we did yesterday.

The tuk tuks have become our preferred mode of transportation, 300 baht for the seven of us, but they do look a bit conspicuous, especially at a place with such heavy traffic. At least we haven't piled onto a scooter like the locals do (5 is the total we've seen on one scooter yet).

We shopped for several hours - though we're saving most of the heavy shopping for Bangkok - and I had quite the fright for at least 10 minutes when I suddenly realized I didn't have the wallet in my hand anymore. Had to retrace my steps through all the
Patong Shopping ParadisePatong Shopping ParadisePatong Shopping Paradise

Bunch of street vendors
small shops I'd been to. Luckily, the last vendor I went back to had my wallet and I therefore didn't bargain quite as much as I probably could have for the bikini I ended up buying. I was too grateful to mind.

Afterwards we walked to a shopping center and got snorkeling gear (for our trip to the Phi Phi Islands) and ice cream.

It was around 6 pm when we finally made it to the beach. The "clientele" was different from yesterday - if it was the beach or the time of the day, I don't know - made up of young people and couples looking for some fun. Interesting but not something we felt like sticking around to see. We went home when the sun set.

Tomorrow we have to get up early at 6 am because we're leaving for the Phi Phi Islands. Two days of snorkeling! I hope I get to see a sea turtle!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Price bargainingPrice bargaining
Price bargaining

(We got it cheap because the vendor was also from "a big family")
Blondes are a rarity in ThailandBlondes are a rarity in Thailand
Blondes are a rarity in Thailand

The woman decided to braid Kia's hair while complimenting her skin and cheekbones.
BreakfastBreakfast
Breakfast

Yoghurt, fruit, and freshly pressed pineapple juice. (That is the actual size of the bananas!)
Necklace with real flowers Necklace with real flowers
Necklace with real flowers

(Sold by a 6 year-old girl, so my sisters couldn't say 'no')


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb