Lost in the Jungle!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
June 17th 2006
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last night I arrived in Pucket. It was an OK place, but not as great as it was advertised. I guess I thought it was pretty expensive and there were a lot of trashy building and trash all over.

It is very humid here and it rains off and on for a couple of hours. I stayed on Patong beach, however I didnt get time to go to the beach because I was so tired once I arrived that i just had to stay put.

My room was really crapy for how much I paid. I think Orbitz kind of exagerated this place, unless I stayed at the wrong place! Which could have very much happened. It didn't look at all like the pictures. Oh well, I didnt pay for it.

All in all I wasnt impressed with Phuket.


At the bus station I met a guy from chicago who was a marine biologist. He worked about 6 months out of the year and the rest of the time traveling. He was nice to talk to but he was going in another direction.

I got on the bus headed for the town of Surat to catch the ferry boat to Samui. It took forever, and the drivers here are crazy. The bus driver was passing people on hills and there are moter bikes on either side of the road and it is just nuts. I just decided not to look.

When I arrived I headed for the docks, I got lost a little bit, but got some directions and soon found them. My boat didn't leave until 11pm that night so I had a few hours to wait. I sat on the pier at a restarurant and had some Thai food and a coke.

I overheard some people talking english, so after I ate I went over to talk to them. It was 2 guys from Korea and a guy from Mexico. The Guy from mexico, Jame, said he had booked a room on Samui and it had two beds, so if I wanted to I could stay with him. I was glad I found him otherwise I would have had to find a room early in the morning.

The boat took about five hours, it wasnt the most seaworthy boat I have been on, but it did the trick. We arrived and went to our hotel. It was pretty nice for $10 each, and it was right next to the beach.

We went to the beach for the afternoon, it was great. clear water and little colorfull fish everywhere. It was so relaxing I have decided to alter my plans.

I have decided to stay longer on the islands and fly into Cambodia rather than travel by land. It will allow me almost a week of time to stay on the islands. Plus it is more convienient and safer than a bus.

The other day Jame and I decided to go to the islands waterfall. We took a taxi to the base of the mountain and were tried to be talked into taking an elephant tour, it was a little expensive so we decided to walk it.

We started up which took 10 minutes to the path that lead up the rest of the mountain through the jungle to the top of the waterfall. It was a very steep path and there was dense jungle all around. But a little boy served as our tour guide and helped us up the mountain. Believe me it was no walk in the park. I cant believe how out of shape i am.

It took us probably an hour and a half to reach the point where there was a swimming pool next to the highest point of the waterfall. It was a sight to behold. There was a cave and beautiful sights all around.

You are probably wondering why this entry is called lost in the jungle, well... After a couple of hours at the top Jamie and I decided to make our way back down. We detoured off the path for a while because we wanted to follow the waterfall down. We saw some amazing sights, but we soon ran out of pathway. We had to head back, but everything was looking the same and we couldnt find anyone. After about an hour we finally reached the pool again and followed some other people down, although they really didnt know where they were going either. But we finally got to the bottom; so that was my experienc of being lost in the jungle.

Jamie had to leave on a flight to singapore early this morning, so I am off on my own once again. I am going to head to the northern part of the island today and stay there for a couple of days before visiting a neighboring island. It is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. I wish I never had to come back. Well, maybe.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb