In Tokyo, very sleepy


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
June 12th 2006
Published: June 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Tokyo last night, well about four in the moring for you back home. It was a twelve hour flight, and I wish i would have paid for business class.

I sat next to some annoying fat teachers who were on their way to teach children in china how to sing the hoky poky. Anyway I arrived and didnt get a chance to sleep on the plane. I didnt sleep because they kept feeding us.

I wish i didnt eat before the flight, i would have felt better. a couple of hours into the flight lunch was served. baked cod with a side salad, roll, noodles and desert. a couple of hours later snacks and soda were served. Later sandwiches were served with drinks. Then, a couple of hours before we arrived in Tokyo dinner was served. It was pasta with marinara sauce, a side salad roll and cheesecake desert. I couldnt believe there was so much food.

It is funny. You know that on the other side of the world people ar doing exactly what we are at home. But you really dont realize it until you experience it. There are people and businesses here doing exactly the same as we do in the states. It is actually very similar to the us, except from what I see they have full service gas stations.

I was going to spend the night in the airport and leave on my flight in the morning, but after no sleep on the plane I decided a hotel would be better. So I arranged for one through the airport. It was a little more yen then I wanted to spend but it was someplace quiet.

It was an ok hotel, the service was good. But, the bed was too small and it felt like sleeping on a box spring. But I realize it will probably get worse. The toilet had controls and many features which I didnt use, but it was better than staying in the airport.

One thing I have noticed about Japan is that everything is scaled down. I keep hitting my head on busses, and chairs and my bed are too short. But thats what I get for being a big American.

I dont really have any cool pictures to put up yet, just my room and toilet. But as soon as I get some I will post them.

It is about 9.45am June 13th right now, or about 6 somethin back home. My flight leaves in a little while so I should probably sign off. Hope everything is going great at home. Until next time.

Advertisement



13th June 2006

Hello from John Deere Infested Iowa!
It was so nice to hear from you - since we were all up at 5am to come to WORK!!!!!! Seriously though, I'm glad you are enjoying your time in Tokyo - we got your Red Book post. What is free in the hotels? Do they give out little shampoo's too? You should bring some Japanese shampoo back to your girls here at Park Place! Do take lots of pics! I'm excited to see them. Have fun and be safe, Casie

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb