It's a dogs world...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
April 3rd 2011
Published: April 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Days 1-3

After a grueling 19hr flight I finally made it to Phuket! My cold really acted up on the plane with the lack of fresh and and pressure when landing and taking off, which made for a pretty miserable flight. However, the awesome Korean food and over abundance of new-release movies made up for it.

When I landed in the airport I was greeted by a man holding a sign with my name for the bunglaow I was staying at. I got rather nervous about getting in the unmarked Toyota Corolla "taxi" with him but really didn't have much of a choice. It turns out that the bungalow was really nice and close to the airport.

Saturday morning I got driven back to the airport to get picked up by ATI and it turns out that there were about 5 of us who had been on the same flight from Seoul to Thailand that were all doing this program! This was amazingly refreshing to know that other people were in this program and it reassured us all that this is legitimate. Right off the bat, I met a big group of people and about 5 or 6 of us got really close and have been hanging out this whole time. My roommate is really nice and is a Kiwi from New Zealand. There are people from England, South Africa, Australia, Canada, and Romania but the majority are from America.

Life has been pretty stressful while here; we have to worry about where to sit on the beach, what fresh fruit we want for lunch, and what time we want go out for drinks....pretty horrible, I know. We have gotten really lucky with the weather as well, as it had rained for nearly 3 weeks straight right before we got here...so much so that I got an email from the U.S. Embassy late Thursday warning us of the severe flooding and landslides. I was worried but where we are staying it doesn't look bad at all. It is also not as scorchingly hot as I was expecting. The evenings are absolutely beautiful...not too humid at all....yet anyway. The beach is literally right accross the street and you can practically hear the waves from our room. The town isn't what I was expecting at all. We are kind of on the other side of Phuket from where all
Beautiful orchid flower necklaceBeautiful orchid flower necklaceBeautiful orchid flower necklace

They have ones with jasmine on them and they smell absoulutely beautiful and if you hang them in your room, your room will smell of Jasmine for weeks.
the happenings are, and is more like a suburb of Phuket Town and more low key.

So here, like Europe, motor bikes are very popular and everyone pretty much has one. Well of course I wanted to give it a shot. Today, about 6 of us rented motor bikes to go to the grocery store and pick up some food to keep in the hotel room (since nothing is given to us by the company, we have to buy every meal). I rented one and my friend wanted to ride on the bike with me. Now, before we left the lady asked if I could ride...and I said "OF COURSE!" So we take off and it is a little more difficult than I thought, but I push on not wanting to be the one to wimp out. As we are heading out to the street, we have to get out of a turn-about. I accelarate rather fast on accident and immidiately have to turn to get on the street...well, I couldn't turn so I pressed hard on the brakes and they didn't work! Now at this point I start freaking out because 1) the lady had just explained that
My humble abodeMy humble abodeMy humble abode

The hotel room I am staying in until April 24th.
there is no insurance on these bikes and 2) my friend is riding on the back. I can't stop and end up heading straight into a cement sign for the hotel at a fast speed...not being able to stop I turn away from the sign and we both fall over with the bike landing on my leg. I'm in a panick, people start running over asking if we are OK, the lady comes over and starts screaming at me about how she asked if I could ride and how I said yes and blah blah blah. My friend and I are OK and so was the bike...HUGE sign of relief. At that point I decide to call it a day with the bike. So I get my money back from the angry lady and tell her to check the brakes on the bike. Everyone else also returned their bikes and we ended up just taking a taxi to the store...so it turned out all right in the end, but man, what an adventure. Next time (if there is a next time) I'm going to practice a bit before I take a bike on the road.

Oh, and about the dogs!!! They are EVERYWHERE!! I was laying on the beach and a dog just came up and sat next to me on my towel...they are completely fearless! I would love to pet them all but I am sure they are full of fleas and bugs since they are mostly wild. They are all really cute and nice though.

About the coruse, some people have already been placed in a school and have interviews with the school next week. I should be finding out soon enough. The course starts tomorrow and goes from 9-4:30 for 3 weeks. I am not very excited about the course but I do hope it really prepares me for teaching a whole classroom of Thai children.

I will try and keep you all posted a few times a week to my life here in beautiful Thailand where Europeans walk around topless with thongs on the beach.

TAKE CARE!




Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Heaven forbidHeaven forbid
Heaven forbid

This sign was about 1/3 of a mile away from the beach. Somehow I don't think that would be far enough if a tsunami hit.
Hangin' on the beach with dogsHangin' on the beach with dogs
Hangin' on the beach with dogs

One of the first nights we got there just hanging on the beach watching the waves. A nice dog came and joined us.
Beach day 1!Beach day 1!
Beach day 1!

Krissy and roommate Ashley hanging on the beach.
Bungalow Bungalow
Bungalow

This is the bungalow I stayed in after I arrived to Phuket. Looks just like the pictures I saw online!
First day on Naiharn Beach, PhuketFirst day on Naiharn Beach, Phuket
First day on Naiharn Beach, Phuket

Surprisingly it didn't rain that day even though there were tons of dark clouds out.


4th April 2011

Glad to hear
Hey G Wow your off to a great start! Where did some of the people get placed? Will you guy be able to hang out once you are placed.
7th April 2011

HOLY COW...or should I say DOG?!
I can't even get over Ms. Genna...I feel like you're living a fiction story right now. It all seems a world away...I loved reading your new entry. It seems all so great. I'm sure it isn't perfect and their have been some stresses and struggles, but you wouldn't be able to know. Everything you talked about seemed so wonderful. I'm so glad that you're safe and the program is a trustworthy program. And even better that you have made such close friends in such a short time. You and I both know that is like half the battle. The beaches and the bungaloo and the hotel look like a fantasy place...well everything but your crazy room. JUST KIDDING! Still looks better than mine. Hahaha. Anways, I miss you tons. I feel like it will only be a couple weeks unitl I see you again but I know that's not the case...it's so weird. I want to tell you all my stories and I want to hear all of yours. Can't you just fly home for a weekend and we can swap stories in the hot tub once a month. Hhahah.. If only my love. But remember to keep me in mind when you find out about your school and dates. It's time for this girl to get saving and looking forward to a trip of a life time. Speaking of, how are prices over there? Are you getting "bang" for your "buck"?! You and the motorbike story is no surprise to me. You're always soo funny...I can literally see you telling the woman blah blah blah I have this and then telling her later on that she might want to check the brakes. Too funny! Just be careful...I want to see you in one piece. :) I hope you continue the blog too; it's great...so informative and the pictures are awesome! As for me things are crazy as always. Had a blast at opening day out here in Milwaukee. Didn't get it too much trouble. Just got a job at Red Rock downtown on water as a bartender, shot girl, and beer tub girl. Orientation is coming up and I'm excited and nervous. Still looking for my day job though. The weather has been on and off...mostly mucky. Hmmm...what else to say. I think that's about it my dear. Oh wait and I'm doing a free yoga class this Saturday...I'll let you know how it goes. But anyways take care and I can't wait to hear from you again! xoxoxoxox All my love, Ash
11th April 2011

Great Read
Hi Genna, really enjoyed reading about your adventures. You are a great writer. Loved the pictures. Looking forward to the next episode.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb