Cooking School


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
October 29th 2010
Published: October 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well I didn't trip down the step but I won the stupid award today! I fell into the shower. I have to defend myself here- The floor was a little bit slippery anyway and you had to be an olympic hurdler to scale the edge of the shower (I have never seen a shower so high - maybe they were preparing for floods). Any way I felt myself slipping and before I knew it I ended up falling into the shower. My leg is black and blue (and purple and red....) but at least I am alright if not feeling just a little bit silly.

We turned Thai later that morning and went to Pat's Cooking School. It was a loooonnnnngggg transfer to the cooking school. We happened to jag a class with someone who knew EVERYTHING (and I mean everything)! What he didn't know about Phuket, Thai Cooking and any topic that happened to come up wasn't worth writing home about. That aside we had a fantastic time. We made a heap of great food such as green curry, spring rolls and banana in coconut milk. The best thing was that we got to eat it. What a feast!

We got dropped off at Robinsons and yes - more shopping! 'Genuine Thai ' iphone 4's came down to $140 aussie dollars! It is amazing what they will try to sell you. I talked Mum and Pam into getting their feet done with, as Pam calls them', the Pirranah's. 15 minutes of having little fish nibbling at your feet was not Pam's idea of fun.

I think we offended one of the Thai ladies selling handbags! We had picked out quite a few handbags and she got quite offended that we wouldn't pay over a hundred dollars for each bag. We walked out and every time we walk past we get the evil eye. I am sure we will find our bags somewhere.

Our mate 'Roo' at Mr Noon's was fantastic to us. He got his sister to organise a couple of tours for us at a reduced price. He also sold us a heap of DVD's (I hope they are good). He was a really interesting person - He came to Thailand from Burma when he was 14 (he is 24 now) and he began working. He sends money home to his parents whenever he can but would love a job being a bartender but apparently it is very hard for a Burmese person to get a job as a bartender - you have to know someone. He gave us all the ins and outs of the police who target different 'genuine' goods - store owners have to pay bribes if the goods are found. On the night in question, T-shirts were being targeted so a lot of the T-shirt shops were closed. Roo also organised a driver for us to take us around the island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb