Oz to Phuket via KL


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
June 28th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friday 27 June 2008

Very fast trip to the airport, the line at Malaysian check in is very slow for the amount of people.

Bumped into three people from work at the airport, two of them are staying in the hotel behind my dentist. Just how small is this planet?
00:20 departure
Dinner a cold chicken roll with mayo, staff forgot to take their happy pills. Personal entertainment system, yeah. Best choice from the movies on demand was “Jumpers” arghh.
Nice family with two kids next to me. Managed about two hours sleep.
Two and a half hours out of KL the cabin lights come on so they can serve up swill.


Saturday 28th June 2008

Have a couple of hours to kill at KL airport, bit ordinary but like the forest in the middle.
Signage very underwhelming but did find some hidden treasures.
This is a non smoking airport with a smoking lounge but if you are a certain nationality you can walk into a restaurant with a friend and lit cigarettes and demand an ashtray. That turned some heads.
Met a nice couple from Brisvagas on the plane from KL to HKT, they are very excited about Thailand, it’s there first overseas trip since their honeymoon twenty years ago. Warn them about glamorous ladies with oversized hands.

Clear immigration and find my driver with my name spelt correctly on the board, good omen. Then he starts driving, Thai style, oh well.

Get to the hotel, well, well, well who’s the VIP around here? My name on the welcome board to the hotel but no red carpet, oh well, too hard to keep the sand out I suppose so will forgive them this time.

Sign here, cool drink, check passport, grab key, done and dusted in less than five minutes, I like it.
A garland on the door, nice touch, it’s my room from 2006, superior sea view room with fruit platter and I’m only paying $28 a night. I’m feeling the love.

Off to the dentist, (well it is the reason for this trip) Digital X-ray, cool, a clean and moulds made. So far no needles.
Tuk Tuk driver tries to charge me 500 Baht from Patong to Kata. I gotta get me a tan and some street cred. 400 Baht later and still over charged I’m back in Kata and get a Thai SIM card for 90 Baht.

Dinner at Jasmines and an early night for this little black duck.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb