Day 14 - 22 Phuket


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
November 26th 2007
Published: December 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

*I'm really sorry this has taken so long to get on.... I never imagined how time consuming this was, and now that I have slowed down a little.... I have become extremely tired all the time. I will endevour to keep them coming more often.*

Arrived from Bangkok on Nokair safely, which to be honest I didn't think was going to happen!!
Comparing to my first flight with Nokair, I wasn't as happy.
Service was still great, very nice staff - however the plane condition left a lot to be desired let me tell you!!!
Not only did it look like it had NEVER had a wash, but there were surface cracks in the paint. The areas around the rivets didn't look flash and at the time I thought I had seen a crack in the nose cone.
Then to board and discover that the whole row of 3 seats rock every time the plane moved.
You could push down on the floor in front of you and push your seats back!!! Not impressed!!
Letter to Nokair is underway!!

Day 14

Arrived at Phuket and was amazed at how big this place is. Everyone on the forums has told me it’s a big place, but you don't fully understand the magnitude of the area until you get there!!
It took about 35-40 mins to get from the airport to my guesthouse, which was located in Karon.
A great little guesthouse just off one of the main roads.
Just up the road a little to the beach and some magnificent markets during the night!.
This area has lots of stalls, places to eat and bars!
Actually if you stay at the Casa Brazil Guesthouse, you have to eat at the little place just up the road. I can't remember the name but if you walk to the entrance of the Casa and go to your left, it’s about 20 metres up on your right. Great local food and was packed full of tourists and expats!!
Food was fantastic, CHEAP and as a bonus - I never got sick!! lol

Day 15

Got picked up at 9am for my trip with Capt Mark. Loaded everyone on board the Sakai, which is an 11m sloop.
What a fantastic day!!!
Unfortunately we didn't have enough wind to set sail, but it was a marvellous relaxing day. Just what I needed!!!!
I was worried about getting up and down the ladder on the boat because of my frigin back, but Mark was right - I didn't have any problems at all.
He's such a gentleman and will lend a hand when needed.
We saw many hongs and the highlight for me was walking through this cave to see this secluded area of rainforest. Then as we were leaving to see and hear some monkeys. As I later found out by visiting the Gibbon Rehabilitation centre, it was mostly likely that we saw the Arun Family of Gibbons that were released there a while back.
Was an amazing sight to see them in the wild and not behind some damn cage or draped over some cretins neck!!
If you get to Phuket, make sure you get your butt onto a Capt. Mark sailing trip. Here is his website http://www.phuketsailtours.com - great value for money.
I saw some of the most stunning scenery I have ever seen. It’s just a pity to see so much litter on these beautiful islands.
And most left by bloody tourists who just don't give a crap about the environment!!
Oh and lunch on the beach was very
The Big BuddaThe Big BuddaThe Big Budda

In the process of building it
nice as well.
The whole day was a memorable occasion and I will certainly go back!!

Day 16

Day tour with Mr. Sam.

Sam was feeling a little sick this day and although the tour was good... I felt a little cheated that it was so rushed.
Certainly would have been better with another person.... just someone else to take up the slack when I was all talked out.
There is only so much you can talk about when you’re in the car with someone for 6 hours!!
Sam picked me up at 9am and was dropped off at 5pm. He often talked about how late most of his tours went for.... mine certainly didn't!
Was driven around some parts of Phuket. Got to see some amazing views.... but must admit, I left feeling I missed out on a lot.
I didn't get to do a lot of what I had planned as I didn't realise that it was going to cost so much to do the extras.
I did however go to see a cobra show and wish I hadn't!!!
I walked in feel a little naive. I didn't really know what to expect, but was shocked... horrified...and sick to see how the snakes were treated!!
They were thrown onto the floor, treated very rough and tossed back into their boxes when they were done teasing, tormenting and punishing them!!
I had to leave; I didn't see the whole show!
I was that shocked by what I was seeing, I didn't even get a photo!! I was too ashamed to admit that I had done this!

Day 17

I moved from Karon Beach to the Mercure hotel at Patong.
The Mercure is a really nice hotel with a gorgeous pool/bar area. HOWEVER!!! If you want to stay here, I would do is soon!!!
It has only been open a few months and is starting to age very badly already!!!
It might be o.k in Thailand but the workmanship on the building in a western way was appalling!!! Cracks, paint barely covering the cement on the walls, crooked walls etc....
Staff are very nice and speak good English. They will endeavour to help you as quickly as possible.
Didn't do much this day, except check in...lay by the pool, got room service and had an early night for a change.

Day 18

Went
Mercure BedroomMercure BedroomMercure Bedroom

Looking in from balcony
for a walk around Patong, trying to get my bearings!!
Wasn't real impressed with the beach area so headed back to the Mercure...cutting through the Patong Merlin which looks like a gorgeous hotel!!
Friday Night BBQ - Picked up by Richard at 5pm and headed to get some food. Met some great people on this nite such as Beck & Don from Victoria and the 2 engligh couples. Very funny frank spencer impersonation...made for a very funny trip back!!
Food was very nice and for 150baht ($5.20AUD) who could complain!!!
After dinner we headed to the Sunshine bar. Great fun to watch the girls behind the bar, professionals all the way!!!!
And very good at scamming a drink or two or three out of you!!!! Was fun, but 2 hours was long enough - just started to repeat itself.
And as I thought it was an exclusive night for the forum members and to find it wasn't - I must admit I was a little disappointed. All in all, was fun night with some great company and some good drinking.
Was an interesting ride back in the back of the pickup...especially as though all of us were drunk...and the driver had had a few too lol
And going around some of those damn corners was a little interesting! lol
If you get to Phuket and you’re a member of one of the forums (If you are, you'll know about these bbqs)... you have to go to at least one of them.

Day 19

SHOPPING, SHOPPING and more SHOPPING!!!!

Met up with Beck and Don from the BBQ the night before to go do some shopping.
Don loves to bargain shop...and as I'm hopeless at it, I got him to do it all for me lol Chicken shit I know lmao

I got some great stuff...
2 x diesel watches 160 baht each
1 x bedroom setting - pillow cases, sheet, doona cover etc etc (pure silk) 1000 baht
2 x shirts 800 baht
2 x t shirts 180 baht
1 x pressie for my mum - can't say what it is as she reads this!! lol 😉
plus some other smaller stuff.
Spent 5 hours here!!!

Evening - Went to the Simon Cabaret. What a crack up!!! Think of Priscilla queen of the desert - then put an asian appearance on it and you have the Simon Cabaret!!!
If you’re in Patong - I would recommend going to this - its very funny and very entertaining!!!

Day 20

Same as day 19 but with some swimming, eating, drinking etc....and excluding the cabaret.

Day 21

Moved to Kate Beach.
Stayed at the Kate Rock Inn. Great location...but warning.... lots of deep stairs, especially so if you are leaving early in the morning with a FULL suitcase and you have to try and get it down all these stairs on your own!!! Not a lot of fun and my shoulder is still sore!!!
Great views from the balcony if you get the top rooms. Would be great value in LOW season - but over priced in high season because of location!!!
1800 baht per night in high season... compared to 2540 baht for the Mercure....for the price/facilities.... price for the rock in isn't worth it in high season.
Afternoon with the lovely Tina and Steven. They came and picked me up from my accommodation and drove me around. We went and had a few drinks, made our way slowly down to the cape for sunset and had a few more drinks.
Was a great afternoon and I am very grateful to them for coming to see me. It meant a lot!!!!

Day 22

Day in Kata, feeling sorry for myself!!
I was meant to go for a scuba and I woke up 3am feeling very sick. The lovely little blue pills i had didn't kick in until 11/12.00.
I was feeling off colour all day, so didn't do much other than go out with Chantal shopping etc....
Kata is a beautiful beach but can be very congested. The roads here are not designed for cars and quickly slows down and makes it quite dangerous for pedestrians trying to walk along the road and/or crossing it.

I will definitely miss Phuket, especially Karon and Kata.
I will not go back to Patong other than a day visit to the markets.
If you have come from other parts of Thailand to Phuket - be warned.... the prices here are double...sometimes triple the prices of else where. Especially 'taxi' and tuk tuk prices!!!!
Rip offs!!!

I will be back....watch out Phuket!!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

CharlieCharlie
Charlie

eating his mango
WardrobeWardrobe
Wardrobe

Dressing gowns, slippers and beach thongs
View from Mercure windowView from Mercure window
View from Mercure window

O'top market bars
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

looking from bathroom into bedroom


12th December 2007

Another good read!!
Enjoying your travel stories so much, glad you enjoyed your day with Mark, its just the best day out isnt it. Sorry to hear you were sick, looking forward to the next chapter of your travels. Take Care Cathy
19th January 2008

Found you again
LOL silly me thought I had lost your blog address - till I realised it was saved to favourites in my laptop ! So am now catching up on all your travels to date. Wow the colours inside the hongs - soooo clear and green.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb