Irish Men Will Be The Death of Me


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
May 13th 2007
Published: May 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I am convinced that if I survive Thailand it will be because I will have steered clear of Irish Men. They are CRAZY! My friend Eoin and his cousin Ciaran are the most out of control fun people but BOY do they drink... I have bruises all over my legs and arms from an impromptu wrestling session... which might have something to do with the Thai Whiskey - But I'm not saying. Heh heh. Friday night we went dancing at a bar near the beach and then continued on to the hotel porch which has become the central hang out for all the people on the course and a few people who have stayed on in Phuket to teach. I think I'm finally getting used to the weather - or getting used to sweating - not quite sure, but dancing in this heat is a major work-out. I feel like I've lost so much weight. My clothes are hanging off me a bit. Now I might have a chance of fitting into an Asian size L instead of XXL. They're so tiny over here - buying a bra would be absolutely impossible for me. I am just rambling here... stream of conciousness.... blah blah blah... Saturday we went to a tiny beach called Laem Sing and -shockingly - it was just as ridiculously beautiful as all the other beaches we have been to. Then we went to the night market - which is kind of like a NYC street fair except bigger and with really strange products... for instance... edible bugs - cockroaches, grasshoppers, grubs etc... BLECH! I'm not that daring. And then there are the strange tee shirts... I saw one with a picture of a kangaroo and it read "Animals of South Africa - Who did you think those video cameras were looking at?" I have no idea what this means, but if the designer of that tee shirt would like some English lessons, I will be available on Thursday. Tomorrow is our final exam for the course and I am just taking a break before going back to study. My head is swimming with grammar... zero conditionals, modal auxilliary verbs, past perfect continuous tense etc... Now I just have to study phonetics and I'm ready. In a few short days I will officially be a teacher. And then I will go island hopping. Love to all. Pictures to follow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb