made it...barely!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
February 18th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Whoa.....what a crazy day...I don't even know what to say...there where almost tears (almost)!!

I got up in Kuala Lumpur this morning and went and watched the Chinese New Year celebration, man people everywhere or what!! At 10 am I had arranged for the same "cowboy wannabee playgirl" taxi driver to pick me up from the hotel. He arrives and takes me to the airport. I explained to him on the way that I had to go to the LCC terminal. Of course he said yes yes yes. So, my plane doesn't leave for 3 hours so I thought Iwould catch up on some emails. Just sitting in the airport, on the interenet wasting time. Finally I go to check which counter I can check in at, and still no number. It was nearly 11:30. I think, well I better got to the "tourist booth" and make sure I am at the right place. Sure enough the lady says NO NO you get taxi now!!! 20 km to LCC ......I thought I was going to break down right then and there....but tada, nope, held it all together, calm Rhonda,calm. So of course I am choked at the cabbie, I have NO ringgetts left. I hit the ATM and the potty, race outside to hail a cab the guys out there say NO, taxi down 2 levels. So here I go, down the elevator.....but no, wrong floor, 2 down is bus level, so what the heck I will take the bus, save myself $20. Ahhh at last on the bus, but the big huge red digital clock at the front of the bus says 12:06 pm, 20 km to go and my plane leaves at 12:45..............I have never stared at a clock like that before, watching the minutes. Finally 12:20 get to the terminal.......then I trip jamming my way off the bus with my "excess baggage" (that's another story). Then I run to the check in counter with three bags of luggage, no time for a cart here, get there to check in, no line up, only moi!! GREAT. So the guy checks me in no problem!! Run to customs, however the guy there is not so impressed....YOU"RE LATE he says....I know my taxi took me to the wrong terminal, is that ok sir, pleeeeeease?? He stamps my passport and GLARES at me and I am off running to gate T-7. There everyone is...boarding the plane....OMG...I made it. Last in line none the less, but no problem, my plane was still there!!! As I stood in line regrouping, time to think.... I felt the tears welling up..........not sure if they were tears of joy or fear but either way I got on the plane without shedding one!!

Before I left Canada, I booked my hotel here and made arrangements for airport pick up. Guess what, no ride. So, time to splurge on a taxi. $650 baht to patong. Please take me to my hotel....no prob says the driver. Sure enough we get on the hi-way and he doesn't know the hotel, or barely speak english, well, no, I guess he does speak it but I sure can't understand him!! So I said stop at a "beloved internet cafe" and I will get the address off the web. Done. Made it to the hotel. Phew!!

Now here I am at Patong beach at one of the billion internet cafes yaaaaaaaaaaay. I think I should be on the amazing race....or I guess having my own is good enough!! Rhonda's Race!! hehe. Hope everyone had a good weekend!!

Advertisement



19th February 2007

Wow Rhonda, that must of been a rush!!!! Joys of travelling! Glad u made it to ur destination. Hey I wanted to know if u could tell me more about that girl who was in jail. What happened to her that she was to be there for 20 years???? I can't seem to get her off my mind. Talk to soon Julane
19th February 2007

EEEEKKK!!! I would have so been freaking out!!!! Glad you made it there all in one piece!!1

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb