This is living man!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Phuket
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Who's a pretty boy!?!Who's a pretty boy!?!Who's a pretty boy!?!

Dad and I posing with one of the locals. Isnt he cute!! Actually, just after this photo he let one rip, it was an absolute stinker.....the elephant, or so Dad insisted!!
In the words of my dear old pop 'this is living man!' The contrasts of this great place have to be seen to be believed, but one thing is for sure (and this is the part that would have impressed old pop the most) there is beer for sale on every corner, in fact its more likely every metre, every corner would be a definite under estimate. Thus this means.....Dad is happy! (and possibly putting on extra weight...hmmm, excess baggage charge coming up??) So anyway, we've spent alot (I mean a LOT) of time relaxing (does eating, swimming, eating, drinking and eating class as relaxing???) We took a speed boat ride to Phi Phi Island, we hired mopeds and managed to tour the island for 2 days without becoming road kill and we have tried the amazingly good food in just about every restaurant on the island. If the heathrow injection didnt get a hold of Mick and I, I'm confident that the Phuket 'Pudge' (is that a word...I think I just made that up?) has definitely taken us in its big fat mouth, tossed us about and spat us out. Mental Note: Must get gym membership!!
We also visited a
Is that beautiful or what?Is that beautiful or what?Is that beautiful or what?

We found this secluded beach whilst mopeding around!!
temple, something Mum and Dad had little interest in until they stepped inside and saw for themselves the incredible architecture, they were lost for words (a rareity for Mum as most of you would know) We also went to a traditional Thai theatre to see the show 'fantasea' it was absolutely brilliant, I had no idea chickens were so talented....long story but trust me, Chickens can be very entertaining. Although, they were slightly outshone by the elephants and tigers, but its not their fault, they did the best they could with their minor roles in the production.
Mum has experienced a lot of firsts on this trip, not only is this her very first overseas experience, it was her first time swimming, her first time in a speed boat and she has also become some what of a....how should I say....piss head? She is now a seasoned Bacardi and Coke drinker and after one night out on the turps, tried to climb in to a tuk tuk (a thai taxi...picture sitting in a ute with seats and a roof) but instead threw herself in, in a cannonball style. If it hadnt been for the bars on the otherside, she would
speaking of Canonballs????speaking of Canonballs????speaking of Canonballs????

Two critters on a moped!
have landed on the road. She will never live that one down.
Dad has also experienced some firsts, one was snorkelling, which he loved, but had a little trouble with his eyes drowning inside his goggles, another first is eating far more than his body can actually handle. In fact I heard him say tonight, that he is so full he cant bend and is having trouble speaking. Oh when will he learn! :-)
All in all, this has been a fantastic 10 days, and we are all a little sad to say goodbye to the friendliest people on earth (those smiling thais could sell ice to the eskimos)

We are heading home tomorrow night and will finally arrive back in good ole Benders Saturday arvo. Its been an incredible journey for Mick and I, we've both learnt a lot and wouldnt swap the experience for anything.
Thanks for reading our blog, hopefully its kept you entertained, or atleast killed some time for you. Thanks for all the comments too, much appreciated.

Although, I've just had word from Mick that he would like to post a rebuttal blog, something to do with not being a 'farty' artist and
Fuel Stop!Fuel Stop!Fuel Stop!

This is one of the local servos, our 4 yr old station attendant did a great job, and decided that we would need 2 bottles to fill the moped tanks.
that his true photographic genius has not been fully appreciated on this site........hahahah, we'll wait for that one Micky....good one!!







Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

More Food!More Food!
More Food!

Hi my name is Steve and one day I would like to try eating my own body weight in food.
Show me the money!Show me the money!
Show me the money!

How much food can I buy with this?? Could you throw in 20 beers too?? and a bacardi for the missis.
Two frogs in a pond!!Two frogs in a pond!!
Two frogs in a pond!!

Ribbit.....Ribbit....Ribbit
Two walrus's in the sea!!Two walrus's in the sea!!
Two walrus's in the sea!!

Orgh Orgh Orgh (thats the noise a walrus makes.....use your imagination, cos I really cant spell that noise)
Wildlife Rescue!Wildlife Rescue!
Wildlife Rescue!

I thought I was doing a brilliant deed trying to rescue this poor dolphin from the sand, til I found out later it was just some seafood dad had hidden for later on.
I am not an animal!!I am not an animal!!
I am not an animal!!

Let me back in the boat people....come back!!
Nice Temple !Nice Temple !
Nice Temple !

Three nerdy tourists pose for the farty artist!
Beer O'clock again!Beer O'clock again!
Beer O'clock again!

Can you pour a bit of bacardi in my cuppa tea?? Mum and I relax after a hard morning....relaxing!
As the sun goes down on a brilliant holiday.....As the sun goes down on a brilliant holiday.....
As the sun goes down on a brilliant holiday.....

The view from our hotel balcony...not bad hey! Picture courtesy of 'arty farty ltd'


2nd February 2007

i needed to write about a travel blog for a class and yours was very entertaining so i decided to pick yours... thanx robert.oakley@saintleo.edu

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb