On my own in Krabi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
April 30th 2015
Published: May 3rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and packed. Today I separate from the group and head out on my own. I left both pairs of sandals and my cowboy hat in the hotel room. The shoes have torn my feet up with blisters and I don't think I need the hat in Nepal. All I have left to wear is my Levi tennis shoes that require socks and it is too hot for socks! Plus I have too much to carry and need to keep it simple! We all met for breakfast then took the boat across to Abnang. The girls got in a cab to the airport and I took a truck cab back into Krabi (a taxi that is set up on a small pick up truck. There are benches lining the back of the pickup and a cage of metal around the outside that you can see through). The pollution coming out of the tail pipe was so bad I puled my sarong out of my suitcase and placed it over my face, to breath through. I was grateful to do this because I felt an overwhelming need to cry! I held the sarong in front of my eyes and cried like
City Hotel City Hotel City Hotel

this is where I stayed
a baby. Nobody could hear me with the truck noise and there was only a school boy sitting next to me and a teenager across from me, neither of which were paying any attention to me. I cried not because I will miss the girls really, or because I was scared to be alone, but mostly for the same reason that brought me here...I feel so alone with both my parents dead now, my dog of 14 years , my best friend who died from cancer, Lynn dead, Mary dead, and Tommy dead. Tommy is not really dead except in my mind. I can't help but think about him because we always traveled together and I am not used to traveling alone.

I found a hotel that was a sister hotel to the one we stayed in and across the street was a market. It has air conditioning and is only $21. I organized my things and set out to explore. The market was not open yet so I wandered down the street to the river! This is a famous river in Krabi and along side it I found the Krabi sign and took a picture. Crossing the street
Night MarketNight MarketNight Market

2 blocks down the street from the hotel I could hear music and upon investigation found a night market
I stepped into a hotel for something to drink and saw again, pictures of the King. Got a soda and an ice cream and set out again. This time I found a huge indoor mall! It had computer games for the kids and booths to rent to practice Karaoke. There were at least 4 floors. Found some silver and stone jewelry and bought gifts then found a pizza place on the top floor that actually looked eatable! Went in and I scored! The pizza was great and there was actually mozzarella cheese on it! I also ordered a salad which came with qual eggs. I have never had them but saw on a TV show a girl craving them, (she was rich) and her husband getting them, so I was curious. They taste just like a chicken egg.

I headed back to the hotel and when I reached my floor I could hear music coming in through the window. I went back out to explore and found a different market that sold everything! There were hand made crafts at the front of it but the further back you went the more there was to buy. I watched some of
pizza in Krabi!pizza in Krabi!pizza in Krabi!

found a great pizza place in the indoor mall they have in Krabi that is at least 4 stories high.
the craft people work on their product and it was amazing. So much talent for so little money. There was a girl painting tennis shoes, a man carving stencils out of flat leather, a lady carving soap into flowers, a guy folding leaves into flowers, people making jewelry, and putting your name on items. There were also performers. A little girl dressed and dancing in a traditional way, a band of children performing and a few boys trying to be rap dancers. There was a huge stage in the center of the food court and they were singing Thai karaoke. I shopped for handmade gifts to take back home for friends, drank fruit juices then returned to my hotel. There is only one channel that is in English and it has a story about monkeys and the problems they cause running like gangs through the cities ripping everybody off. I took a shower and fell fast to sleep.



Woke up to the phone ringing and the desk clerk saying my cab was here. It is 5 am and I am headed for the airport. Today i fly back to Kathmandu, Nepal, and I don't want to miss
BaughtBaughtBaught

this is 1000 bought which equals $10. A picture of the King is on it and thus if you drop a bill in Thailand people will dive at it to keep it from hitting the ground.
the plane! I must fly into Bangkok first and then switch planes and head for Nepal. I get to the airport and the plane is not listed on the board for outgoing flights. Apparently I am too early and it won't come up there until the last hour. I ask at information and they send me across the airport to one of the boarding stations. After sitting there a while, someone shows up at the desk and I show her my ticket and she makes a phone call and sends me back across the airport. Upon arrival to the gate she sent me to I am informed that I now need to go downstairs to the right gate. I head back across the airport to the escalator and go downstairs . I sit in the front row of a huge room full of chairs that cover at least 6 or 8 gates. I started talking to 2 ladies sitting next to me and they were very sweet. They are volunteer workers for children and were on their way to some project they are involved in. Both were teachers in schools for handicapped children. When the gate lady came over to
Palm leaf rosesPalm leaf rosesPalm leaf roses

my friend in California, Kirk, taught me how to make these
me and said I needed to go to a different gate, they gave me a Thai keychain with a doll on it made of pom pons. They had just been saying how Thai people do that, give small gifts when they meet someone or are leaving someone. I felt bad I had nothing to give them. So one more time I changed gates and this one was the correct one, finally. I boarded the plane and settled into a great book I have been reading. When I arrived in Bangkok I looked for my gate and learned that I needed to go to a different airport! That would be an international flight and the airport I was at was only an airport covering locations inside Thailand! I got a cab and we rushed across town! The drivers here are so funny, as in most foreign countries, the rules only are suggestions. They make up their own lanes and drive where ever there is an opening! I get to the airport and of course the flight is 1 1/2 hours late! I waited and chatted with a high school girl that had just got back from Nepal and was waiting for a plane home. Her whole group from school was with her and they were soccer players. What a great experience for kids so young! It was three hours late that I boarded the plane! Thai time! (My pen rye! That is a phonetic spelling of the Thai saying that means, no big deal, don't worry about it, no problems).

The flight was almost 4 hours and I was grateful when we landed. I knew my friend, Sos, would be waiting for me!








Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

vendors pricesvendors prices
vendors prices

this man made stencils from leather by hand! Incredible work for such a small amount of money
leather vendorleather vendor
leather vendor

making stencils
market vendor soapmarket vendor soap
market vendor soap

this lady carved bars of soap to look like flowers and then died them colors. Beautiful! Sold the large ones for only $3 a piece
soap flowerssoap flowers
soap flowers

this is the carved results
vendor food...vendor food...
vendor food...

10 bought would equal 10 cents
foodfood
food

this is squid and shrimp
store for framesstore for frames
store for frames

even the frame vendor has pictures of the King in his shop! And the Princess
Temple CeilingTemple Ceiling
Temple Ceiling

Found a Temple and this is the inside ceiling
hotel lobbyhotel lobby
hotel lobby

even the hotel lobby has pictures of the King and the Princess
TempleTemple
Temple

in Krabi, I found when I was wondering around
light poleslight poles
light poles

check out the light poles!
inside hotelinside hotel
inside hotel

this is my room inside City Hotel in Krabi
view from my windowview from my window
view from my window

a food night market
across the streetacross the street
across the street

was a second market that just sold food


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb