Moving On


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
June 13th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Thank you for all your warm wishes, thoughts and prayers. We are recovering well, Brian is looking much much better. We spent the day in court yesterday, which was a very interesting experience. One of our Thai friends translated for us, and we haven't heard the outcome yet, but I hope to feel some sense of justice at least from the proceedings.

Today, we are leaving for Bangkok at around 5pm and will arrive early tomorrow morning. We will spend Sunday getting passport pictures taken and perhaps shopping for cameras. I don't think that there is much hope of recovering our stuff, but the important thing is to move on from this. We are definitely a lot more cautious now and being extra careful to protect ourselves. Last night we had a going away party with all of our friends here, and I will post pictures from that once I receive them so that you all can see the wonderful people who have helped us through this.

We will be in Bangkok for two nights sorting out Brian's passport and visa and then we fly to KL on Tuesday night and spend the night there before flying to Hangzhou, China the next morning.

Despite all this, I am very much in love with Thailand. It is an amazing country and we have had some incredible experiences here. I have not written about our best days yet, and I think once we get to China I will find the time to share them with you. The days leading up to the incident were some of the best of my life. And even after, we have had a really incredible time with our Thai family. They call us their little brothers, and have taken very good care of us at every step of the way. I have promised them all that I will be back in Thailand, and I encourage all of you to plan a trip at some point in your life. The natural beauty here is unmatched, it has been a great experience.

I will post again at some point while in Bangkok, but until then, stay safe and I hope everyone is doing well!

Advertisement



15th June 2009

Save Journey
Glad to hear Brian is doing better physically. Very happy to hear you are thinking mostly positive thoughts about this first leg of the trip. I love the title of your most recent posting, "Moving On." It would be so easy for most people to head back home. You and Brian have the right attitude...moving on to the next journey makes you the winner. Giving up makes the thugs the winners. Safe journey for your next phase of the trip. Can't wait to hear more about the this next adventure. Love, Sammy

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb