I'm a horrible blogger :)


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
July 18th 2008
Published: July 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I'm an absolutely horrible blogger! I just haven't got the motivation. Also, I'm thinking pictures will have to be put up at a later date because I'm also a horribly unorganized blogger and have forgotten my camera back at base 😊
So much has gone on this first week in Thailand that one of two things is going to happen. Either I'll write an incredibly long rambling blog today, or I'll cut it in half and finish it later. Hopefully not a week later, but I'm not promising anything...
Friday the 11th was my first day on the GVI base. the house is amazing, I love thai houses. Cool tile, open rooms, lots of windows. There are ten of us on this expedition, all girls, and we're staying in the large dorm. there's a smaller one with a few more bunk beds, but we all thought it'd be nice if we started with everybody in one and then people could move if it just got too crowded.
ten girls is a lot of female! I'm so not used to that, but it's interesting and I'm getting used to it. I have to get up very early just to squeeze in some quite time without anybody else around. by early I mean about six. yeah. early. but the sun just wakes me right up here, it's lovely.
The base itself is as tightly run as a ship. there are schedules everywhere and a calendar with all our trips and community services marked out well in advance. everybody knows what's going on and when.
breakfast is at eight, chores at eight thirty. then we have input sessions which is where they give us the lessons on teaching. after that we lesson plan until lunch. after lunch, more lesson planning. everyother day we have basic thai lessons. we teach at either five or seven at night. that's the plan for monday thru thursday. fridays we have off from teaching. we usually do some sort of community service. On saturday the trips and fun excursions are scheduled and sunday is our day of rest.
we were seperated into groups and on some days we cook, some days we're the housecleaners and some days we're doing the outside chores. I much prefer the outside chores 😊
lesson planning takes up a lot of time right now, but everybody says we'll get faster at it the more we practice and it won't take up nearly as much time later on. That's very good to know.
the girls on the expedition with me are absolutely fabulous. i love them all, and we're all so incredibly diverse. perhaps I'll have another entry just on them 😊
It hasn't all been just work. at night we sit out in the palapas and have a beer and relax. the conversations can get very... strange... but it's nice 😊 We went to a housewarming party last night for two of the volunteer teachers, and next week there is a talent show/ birthday party for one of the GVI staff. Good clean fun 😊
and i've run out of internet time, so I'll post more at a later date 😊
cheers!


Advertisement



19th July 2008

you must be lovin every minute of it...

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb