sail me to the moon


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Good night coconuts, good night rocky beach, good night bamboo hut, good night fire mutt ... good night gee & odd & barefoot soccer players ... good night rubber trees, good night ko jum, good night moon.

This morning we climbed into our long-tail and caught the morning yaht back to mainland ... spending the afternoon in Krabi, easing ourselves back into the real world (oh we will be some cranky poultry, what with missing our afternoon hammock siestas), then we're taking a car -- a real car, and we get to ride on the inside! -- to the airport, fly to bangkok, make camp on a few rows of plastic seats until morning and then hit "play" on duck (TMIT)'s departure soundtrack ... Rosebud's "I'm leaving the country." I'll stand for a minute, waving all goofy-like, then wobble 'round and hitch my way to the train station. And on with the journey.

A bit of a warning, now. There are two schools on Ko Jum ... and rumor has it they're looking for a teacher. Imagine a little treehouse bamboo get up all my own ... fly Gouda out ... write like a beast during the monsoons from my porch hammock ... oh lordy. This, my friends, is what we call love. Perhaps, rabbit, perhaps. A goose can dream anyway.

In the meantime, I'll make my way back up north to Chiang Mai where I supposedly have a part time job already waiting for me. Work! What a dirty word. It will be a nice change to have the wads of baht slapped into my hand rather than the other way around though, there's no question there.

Bring on the baht.

I'll have more island tales for you later and "heaps," as the aussie's say endearingly, more pictures once I get back up north and somewhat settled and I have a bit of time. Patience, friends.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0949s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb