Ko Tarutao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Krabi
December 14th 2006
Published: December 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We left Penang and headed for Hat Yai (a loud and noisy city north of Malaysia in the far south of Thailand) with the same travel companions we have been traveling with for about a week now...Dallas and I, Ben (the Aussie), Lionel (the Britishman) and Gary (the Englishman). Yeah, me and a bunch of boys again. Ah well. At least there's plenty of fellas to open the door for me. Immediately after entering Thailand we were on a one stop track to being had by every Thai in sight. Everywhere we went people started lying to us about where to go and when to go and how to get there so that we would get the "best deal" but really they were the ones making out with the extra baht or two. Very frustrating. But despite all that, Thailand is beautiful. I mean really amazing. On the minibus trip to Pak Bara (the pier and jumping off point to Ko Tarutao) we were able to take in the countryside of Thailand. Once we got to Pak Bara we were bombarded again by the money hungry boat operators. After nearly 12 hours of travel from Penang, we arrived on the sleepy island of Ko Tarutao. It is a national marine park so it's not developed at all. There's one road that runs the length of the island and there's a bunch of bungalows near the ranger station. We all got a room together and went for a swim. We ended up spending three nights on the island...hiking, swimming, throwing the frisbee, playing with the monkeys, etc. The first morning there I decided to go on a run so I got up early and started out on the main road. Not five minutes into the run I looked up in the trees and black monkeys with big white eyes were jumping from tree top to tree top. I ran about one mile out and found a dirt road off to the right so I decided to run down it. I was rounding a corner and spotted some sort of big jungle creature so I stopped. It was big and black and bigger than me and staring at me. "That beast is looking at me. That beast is evil" (That's for the Brian Fellows fans). So I stared back and it must of sensed how dangerous I am because it ran off into
The IsleThe IsleThe Isle

Just sit right back and you'll hear a tale...
the forest. I must admit that I was a bit afraid of the jungle beast so I decided that it was a good time to end my run and head back for camp. It also seemd a good time to pick up a giant rock and finish my run while carrying that with me.

So, overall the few days were actually quite eventful, but it's been so long since I've blogged i'm not sure that I can write it all down here. Let's just say it was a lot of fun. I don't have a parasite in my forehead (praise God), we ate a lot of coconut that fell from a nearby tree, i saw a sting ray and a jellyfish in the water (so i got out and the boys made fun of me. jerks), we went on a crocodile hunt in the crocodile caves where we boarded a raft with four Thai boys and we traveled down a long dark cave into the mountainside (alright, maybe not so much a hunt, but it was definitely an adventure), and I got approximately 40 mosquito bites on my legs and I almost cried about it because it's so miserable.

It's hard to get the time to post pics on here, so I haven't done that for a while. Hopefully I will get a chance to do that soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



14th December 2006

you are being prayed about
I will definitely keep you in my thoughts and prayers Becky, enjoy His creation.
14th December 2006

Thanks!
Becky! Thanks so much for this encouraging and thought-provoking entry. It is really neat how no matter where we are or where we look, if we are not straining to look in the face of God, we are missing the point. I can't wait for heaven either! (or for you to come home!). Just to encourage you, remember that God is your refuge and strength sufficiently, no matter where you are or what your circumstances are. I love you!
14th December 2006

Hey there
I know you are having a great time. Just remember,the LORD made everything, and in everything there is purpose. When you look around, you will see God's glory. We can never expect to see it in man....I hope these words are encouraging because that's how I mean them. I love you. Daddy
14th December 2006

This is my Father's World
You reminded me of one of my favorite hymns; here's the last verse of the song: This is my Father's world. O let me ne'er forget that though the wrong seems oft so strong, God is the ruler yet. This is my Father's world: why should my heart be sad? The Lord is King; let the heavens ring! God reigns; let the earth be glad! Although Christ is king, the reality of His kingdom has not come fully, but it will; and we have the opportunity to bring healing and restoration to our broken world while we wait for Christ to come again and make all things new. I can relate with the desire for good solid christian fellowship and being separated from that for a long time (however, you are gone even longer.. :) Anyways...i'm not preaching at you, i'm agreeing with you and i look forward to hearing more of your journeys. thanks for being so honest keeping us up-to-date! (:
14th December 2006

Soon!
Hey! I'm excited to see you soon!!!!!! I'm praying for you and am glad you are learning a lot on your trip, even as you did not count on learning all of this so far! And we won't have greek hanging over our heads as we hang out in Thailand (but Doc will still be there if we want some help I'm sure!)
14th December 2006

mmm so good to read this one. reading this helped me. so i'm glad you shared.
15th December 2006

dear friends,
hey kids. i miss you both terribly. i am praying for you and your adventures. I hope you both are growing closer to the Lord and learening more about Him, and yourselves. i can't wait to see you both again....until then, cheers!!
15th December 2006

It's about time
I was thinking, Becky hasn't written for a while. I'm glad to get the blog today. I'm glad you're enjoying your trip still.
16th December 2006

The food
It is so cool to read your adventures. Its like reading a good book. You are a great writer and so detailed. I have really enjoyed it! So tell us about the food. Is it good? Do you get to eat much? What is the most interesting thing you ate so far? Love you and be safe and RUN from the big hairy beasts in the jungle. Love, Ry
17th December 2006

Hey there
Hey, it's your cousin Dana. Your adventures are amazing. I always admired Jane Goodall for her braveness, following her heart, devotion and sense of adventure. You really emulate those qualities. I wish I could, but I get scared hiking if there is a mountain lion sign posted on the trail. I will just stay safe in my computer chair and enjoy reading about your adventures and admiring all the great photos (Mt. Fuji especially). Take care, Dana

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb