pad sei eiu too


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
May 16th 2004
Published: September 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

On the island known as Koh-Tao, where we arrived from Koh-Phangnan home of the infamous full moon party, but we'll get to the party later.

My body is a physical wreck. I got sun-burned, slipped on some rocks and gashed the bottom of my foot open (i have been referred to as the Hunchback of Koh Tao because I can't walk very well). The bright side to my foot is that Jason and Danielle are at my every whim. If I need a drink, they get it, if I need some sunscreen, they apply it. Don't tell them, but my foot healed two days ago.

Koh-Phangnan is beautiful. It's what you picture paradise to be. Like in those great Corona commercials where all you see and hear are the waves hitting the beach. Picture Gilligan's Island with topless sunbathers, really good food, and no Professor. Jason has made the women very happy here by going topless as well. We are in a bungalow right off the beach and the water is 85 degrees. I'm living in one of those pictures you see in the tourist magazines. Yes, I know I'm being redundant, but it is truly that nice.

Full Moon Party: Overrated? Maybe. The name is just as it sounds. A party on the beach on every full moon. You have drunken tourists dancing and vomiting, sometimes at the same time. Yes, I felt a little old since the average age of the party-goer was 23 but it was still pretty fun because the music was good and it rained to keep the heat down. There's nothing like dancing in the rain in a drunken stupor, if you don't believe me, just ask Jason who perfected it. The set up is this: Each bar that faces the beach plays a different style of music and sells alcohol. You go to the bar you want, and drink what you want all night. We went with a tour group from England and America. They were a good bunch that turned out to be a lot of fun. There was Joe, the ex-football player that was the group protector. Burt, the quiet Brit who when drunk, turns into Burt, the "drunken bloke wanker". I was perhaps the most valuable member of the group. I just got drunk and kept on getting lost, so I contributed greatly.

We took a thai cooking course and I can now make my favorite dish which is Pad Sei Eiu. I have now mastered international cuisine and will cook for anyone who asks so prepare your palettes because I know spicy. Unfortunately, I know only how to make the one dish so don't expect too much variety on the menu.

Scuba diving in Kao Tao was great as well. Seeing 6 foot sharks swimming right below you causes the heart rate to speed up and the wet suit to warm up to 98.6, but Jason and I still have our limbs so we're happy.

I'm surprised how few Americans that we've met the entire vacation. Canadians, Europeans, and Australians have been the brunt of travelers. I guess this proves that Americans work way too much. Sure America is the richest nation in the world, but look at all the stress we have because of it. Is it worth the pay off? Is two weeks vacation a year enough to have a healthy and happy life? or is it better to have more holidays, eat less fast food, live longer, but make less money? You materialistic bastards probably chose the first choice, but the smart money's on the living longer option.

Interesting note: at 8:00am in Bangkok, a song starts playing over the loudspeaker at the train station and your supposed to stand up in honor of the king and queen of Thailand (there's a huge picture of them that you face).

Anyway, the trip is winding down as we head to Chang Mai (the 2nd largest city in Thailand) and you should expect one or two more emails before I get back. Looking forward to seeing you, eating Carl's Jr, and making you all some Pad Sei Eiu




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.036s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1789s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb