Cambodia and Thai Islands


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
July 21st 2010
Published: July 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I last left you in Cambodia in Phnom Penh. I traveled north to Siem Reap to take in Angkor Wat. It was amazing, impressinve, and lived up to all the expectations that people set for it. The first day in town I went to the National Museum to get some background on the temples, the beliefs behind them, why there were so many, I ended up learning a lot about Hinduism, Buddhism, and much about the Khmer culture and history. Unfortunately the hotel did not wake me up for sunrise, but I awoke and rushed over to the temples to see the sky light behind Angkor Wat. The temple was larger than I imagined, and well preserved. They were working on preserving a bit of the main tower, so I was unable to get the postcard sunrise shot, however it the view was worth the little sleep I got. (by the way sorry for no photos this time, my camera is having trouble loading them onto this computer, might need some IT help when i get back). Anyways, I explored with tuk tuk driver at my side. I went to Angkor wat, and did both the large and small loop for those that have been there. The trees growing around and over the stone walls and temples at the sight was unbelivable. And Angkor Thom I thought was most impressive of all with large faces set with backdrops of baby blue skys and soaring trees. Siem Reap was nice as well, I had one of the best and worst meals of my trip while trying some Khmer food. The best, which featured a 7 course menue at a good restaurant all for about $5. The meal included fresh spring rolls, morning glory (yes sarah similar to khaled greens and i am starting to enjoy them), a green curry, pork ribs, fish amok (steamed fish with peppers steamed in other spices in banana leaf, amazing), and some chilled fruit for dessert. The worst included going to the local Cambodian BBQ stalls across the river, where I was standing out as the only foreigner to dine at this "restaurant". The delecasy features bbq beef, a dipping sauces that includes fermented fish sauce with crushed peanuts, hot peppers, onions, and other spices, basically the worst thing I have tried in my life, the nausiating smell and taste of this dish was so overwhelming I could not bring myself to even go get more food after this experience until the next day and brushing my teeth a handfull of times. Cambodia was a good experience with the classice, "8 hour" bus ride back to Thailand that took well over 12 hours of bliss. The experience was good all together, I really wish I had more time to check out the southern and norther parts of the country to get more of the off the path experience.

Back in Bangkok arriving 4 hours later than planned I was able to get the last seat on an overnight trip to Koh Tao. Amazingly enough I ran into a guy, Ben I knew from Manhattan beach through friends. I ended up bunking and exploring Koh Tao and Koh Phang Ngan with him and his friend Colin. Koh Tao was great, so far one of the most enjoyable stops of the trip. The island is tiny with every corner of the island 15 minutes away by motor bike. We lucked out in finding accomodation, a cabana hut right on the water in Sairee beach. There was a postcard worthy palm tree climing diagonally toward sunsets each evening right off of our porch. The first day in Koh Tao we went around the island checking out the different beaches jumping in the water near shark island to explore the thriving reefs. We actually swam out deep enough and saw two black tipped reef sharks. There were also vibrant fish of all colors. There were amazing view points all over the islands as well with views of the white sanded beaches, huge rocks jutting out of the bays. We ended up swimming out to one about 30 ft high and jumping in trusting our lives to a French Snorkler below, who assured us that it was deep enough, luckily it was and it was a more enjoyable leap the second go around. Again, I will try to post pictures of all this once I get back home. The day was amazing capped off with a sunset dinner loking over the palm tree of some street food. The time spent there was great, will be hard to forget. Koh Phang Ngan (sp?) was also a good time, a bigger Island and dampened with some rain for the 1st day we rested up for Hat Rin, more of a younger crowd. The beaches here were also great, and again we got lucky with accomodation lying about reservations in order to get beachfront pool access at a cheap hotel. The following ngihts were filled of fun dancing, pool parties, and meeting really fun people. We ended up going to a Half Moon Jungle Party, really not my scene at all, but with the black lights, short neon shorts, florescent body paints, and once in a lifetime experience I couldnt pass it up. The night was great, even though I could never listen to the trance music again for that long in my life I am glad I went. I ended up getting into Koh Phi Phi today, this is the island where limestone cliffs jut high out above the water next to white sandy beaches. I spent today catching up on some sleep exploring what little you can here and signing up for some scuba diving tomorrow morning. Its an introductory class and I can only dive to 12 meters but I know I will regret it not going 20 years from now. Its going to be hard to leave in 7 days but I am going to enjoy them as best I can.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb