Kao Tao Island


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
March 23rd 2006
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the last four days on this little island, it seems to be a backpackers and scuba divers Mecca. The shoreline is covered with cheap guest houses so naturally the beaches are full of young people. Four days ago I enrolled in an SSI open water scuba diving course at a place called Scuba Junction. For the past three mornings I’ve been stuck in a classroom learning theory, but every afternoon I’ve been taken all over Kao Tao on a special dive boat to learn the practical side of the course. For the past two afternoons I’ve been doing open water dives up to about 18m depth, its like a passport into a different world, watching the life in the corals close up, swimming in schools of hundreds of fish, its something quite amazing and unlike anything I’ve done before. I've even been attacked by a trigger fish & seen a Barracuda so it can be very exciting as well, i heard there were turtles and whale sharks in the area but no luck this time. Now that I am a fully qualified diver I just can't wait for the barrier reef.
You are not meant to drink and dive & you’re meant to get a good night’s sleep every night during the course - so I’m of to get some beers & go to a beach party.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 17; qc: 85; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb