Diving in Koh Tao


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

In Koh Tao now and started my diving course today and having loads of fun. But as I haven't written on here for a while I'll start with Full Moon Day. It started off with rain so we were a bit disheartened but thankfully it cleared up. I even went to get my hair cut! i wasn't planning to but our Thai friend Numpoung got her hair done and it looked like she'd just walked out of a top stylists hair salon in London so I thought I'd give it a go - it was only a few pounds anyway! And I'm glad I did, it looked lovely and he even straightened it (making me miss my hair straighteners even more!) but as soon as I walked out and the humidity went to my hair it didn't look so good (kinda like the episode of friends with Monica - Jo and Daniela I'm sure you know which one I mean!) The Full Moon party was good but not as good as we thought it would be, there was a good vibe but the nights leading up to it were better. We stayed and watched the sun rise which was good but the beach was a mess in the morning, so much rubbish and drunk people! Then we went and had breakfast and packed and got the boat to Haad Tien were the sanctuary was. We met Dina there and got a bungalow - I felt like I was in I'm a Celebrity get my out of here - it was really out in the sticks with all the insects and the bathroom was outside! We had the funniest night though with Dina trying to kill a cockroach in our room and the biggest moth landing on the mosquito net - we were screaming like girls! Then the next day me and Dina saw a lizard about a foot long (I'm not even exaggerating) outide the bungalow then we heard it all night inside the bungalow when we were trying to sleep! We planned to do a detox at the sanctuary (with collonic irrigations and clay shakes!) and did a 2 day cleanse of eating fruit and veg only (it was so tough!) but then the day before we were planning to start we were evicted from the bungalow! Well we were booking it night by night as we were trying to get a room at the sanctuary and they gave it to someone else! So we couldn't find anywhere else nearby and there was only one bed in the dorm there so Dina stayed and me and patrice left. I wasn't having the best time there though to be honest so I think it was a blessing in disguise - everyone there was VERY spiritual and I realised how unspiritual I actually am! Also Patrice was being eaten alive by mosquitos and the people there told her if she was taking antihistamins she might not be able to do the detox so I think it was god trying to tell me something!!

So we got a boat back to Had Rin, stayed there for a night then got a boat to Koh Tao yesterday. We're staying in the Crystal Dive resort in a bungalow that costs 200 Baht which is about 3 pounds! And its really nice with 2 balconies, cable tv and a big bathroom. Started the diving course today and our dive instructor is from Croydon!! Small world!! And he worked in Marks and Spencer when I worked there - very strange! So now were known as the
I'm a celebrity get me out of here!I'm a celebrity get me out of here!I'm a celebrity get me out of here!

This is the bungalow we stayed in when we went to The Sanctuary - it may look cute but there were holes everywhere meaning loads of insects! And you see the brick bit next to it - that was the bathroom - outside!
Croydon girls! Only did theory today but in the swimming pool tomorrow then diving in the sea the next day!!

Also added more pics so flick through my old entries to view!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

The bedThe bed
The bed

The three of us where in here screaming at the insects!


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb