Finished!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
December 13th 2007
Published: December 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes! on the 11th of december i did my last day as a student and finished my dive master course! All day my role was the same as the other DM's. working behind the counter in the shop, getting weather condition info about dive sites, choosing the dive sites, preparing the boat, looking after everyone diving that day on the boat and taking divers out round the site and getting them back safely. It was very tiring work but very rewarding. Every one clapped as we came back to shore and then they threw me off the boat into the sea as per big blue tradition.



I told big blue that i wanted to help out if i could and do some work for free so the very next morning I took a guy diving on his nitrox course and today i took out a group of 4 divers to two different dive sites. It was fantastic and i wasn't as nervous as i thought i would be all my dives as a DM have gone without a hitch. I have been talking with the manager and have agreed to do a DSD internship at big blue which is a course to learn how to teach DSD (Discover Scuba Diving) its one step to my instructor course which i definitely will be doing in around 6 months time when i get a bit more experience as a DM. I have really caught the bug and i can see me doing this for a long time. I love the place the whole island has a great vibe. The other day I rented a scooter with a friend, Helen and we took off around the island. There is no road that goes around the circumference of the island so you have to double back on yourself quite a lot. I'd say you can do the whole island in less than 40 mins. We found a beautiful beach to the south called freedom beech. Very quiet and out of the way. there is a nice bar/restaurant in the hills overlooking the bay we stopped for a drink it was really very nice.



I am still waiting for my graduation party (another big blue tradition) which involves your mentor/instructor humiliating you up on stage and pouring lots of different drinks down your neck. Also they make you dress up and i don't know what they have in store but it will be a good laugh. My mentor Deeno is a top bloke he helped me so much with my course even though he had his students to deal with he always had time for me and he really pushed me in the right direction when i needed it. So it was deeno who signed me off on the night of the 11th and after we had a couple of beers not too many because as i said, i had to go to work the very next day!



So for the time being I'll do my internship at BB and type up a C.V and hand it round all the dive shops on the island. I may get an offer from BB I'll have to wait and see. But there is always work somewhere on the island. I am also moving house on the 18th, I'm moving in with 2 other DM's into a beautiful 3 bed/two bathroom place with hot water, T.V, DVD, kitchen the works! It is a palace! I will miss my little bungalow but I need some comfort after living in a shack for 3 months.



Anyway It's all good! keep on truckin!



Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb