I'm staying, and I have found a dog.


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
October 9th 2005
Published: October 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Our PoolOur PoolOur Pool

Jealous? This is our resort
I am a little overdue in updating the travel blog, but the Internet was pretty slow and expensive on Koh Tao, and so I thought that I would wait till I got to the UK- staying with my cousins who have broadband at the moment, which is lovely change!

I decided that I was going to stay on Koh Tao for a couple of extra days from the pictures I am sure that you have no idea why I wanted to stay there- plus I wanted to do an open water diving course and didn't have enough time if I stayed with the tour.

Kieran and I were sharing a room that was up on the hill looking out over the sea, luckily there was a tree that shaded the hut because it was so, so hot. It was a small hill, but at the end of the climb to the hut I was serious puffed every time, it was ridiculous. We had lots of mates, including a couple of Gecko's on the lights. On the 2nd night we were looking at this big beautiful moth that was flying around which was really brightly coloured and had eyes on it's wings, and Kieran decided to turn off the light because she saw the gecko's wiggling their tail's at it and she thought she would save it, but no sooner had she turned off the light when we heard this -shuffle shuffle crunch... and she turned the light back on and there was this tiny gecko with it's jaws wrapped Jurassic-park-styles around the huge moth's head, which it preceded to eat and leave the rest of the body and wings on our deck. I also saw a squirrel and we were out checking out a large bat in the tree at night when Kieran spotted a small snake with the touch.

Then we got a little black dog as a visitor, who preceded to eat a big whole in the deck, which I documented just in case we got in trouble. We decided that she could be our Koh Tao mascot and called her Mai-Tai, I feed her some Teriyaki Salmon flavoured chips (not good, another failed attempt at trying to get into the random Thai junk food) and she was so stoked that she stayed the whole night on our deck. We thought she was terribly loyal until
Constanza & KerynConstanza & KerynConstanza & Keryn

Going snorkelling!
I was in a restaurant down the beach the next night and she busted in and started hanging out with some other tourists (I think she was a bit of a hippy, into free love) but none of this was out done by her love for the sea, she was often spotted far off shore, just chilling in the water...

We went snorkeling for a day which was amazing, we all came back looking like angry tomato's, but we all had fun. The coral was spectacular and the fish were very cool as well, but I didn't find Nemo so I decided that I would have to go scuba diving to continue my quest- So I signed off the tour and they all tripped off into the merry blue yonder- I was not having a very good day, I was sad to be saying goodbye to yet another group of people, and also the Hotel was trying to charge me a second time for the snorkeling that I had already paid for. They found the payment in the end (or decided to believe me) which was good, but it was all the bit stressful at the time. Constanze and
Free coffeeFree coffeeFree coffee

Yuh yuh yuh!
I stayed to find Nemo, and the diving course started that day. I'll update you with stunning pictures of me in scuba gear tomorrow.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Our resortOur resort
Our resort

From the boat
Me (on beach, again)Me (on beach, again)
Me (on beach, again)

This is a human made spit thing. Pretty though. Had to pay to sit in the chairs though!
Mai ThaiMai Thai
Mai Thai

V. cute dog, our mascot.
NaughtyNaughty
Naughty

And she knows it!


Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0147s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb