ok, well not really at sea any more...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
April 20th 2007
Published: April 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Have you tried diving? No? Yes? Well, if you haven't then you should. Before this week I have only been once and I remembered it as amazing. Not anywhere near as amazing as today though. Not even close. We got on the boat at 7:30 am, all of us looking a bit rough, and set out for the first dive spot. We were all feeling the nerves but once I hit the water and started down, all nerves were forgotten.

The quiet, the bubbles, the cool water, and the fish, oh my gosh the fish! They were amazing and so many bright colours! Blue and yellow and red, Angel fish and Groupers, and many more to whom I don't know names. They didn't have much fear of me or my my bubbles, some even coming up to look into my goggles at my round, astonished eyes! I can't effectively describe to anyone who hasen't dived, the amazing feeling of sitting on the bottom, looking up to where your bubbles go, then back down and around at a totally foreign world. You lose total track of time and before I was ready, our instructor was signalling to go up. "No, I don't want to yet! That wasn't 45 minutes?!". No, it was 43 minutes but had felt like 10. We got out and onto the boat to have a snack and head to the next site.

The next dive was even better, with even more fish and coral and sea creatures. Then, way to soon once more, back to the boat to head back and do the last of our theory (boo). I can see very easily how this life can be addictive. Our instructor Mario came here on vacation 11 years ago. He dives every day and relaxes (or parties) every night on one of the most beautifull beaches in Thailand, the world even. Wow, do I need to say that I am jelouse?

We have two more dives tomorrow and I think I will then sign up for the Advanced course too, so I can go and see deeper fish. Oh, and they saw three (yes three) Whale Sharks out at the deep dive sight today with the Advanced group. You know, those massive gentle giants of the deep the size of school buses? Again, wow. I can't wait.

I'll post pictures when I have some, but I need a special camera for that.

xoxo
Sarah

Advertisement



20th April 2007

sounds wonderful ...
... and that you might be staying in Koh Tao for a couple of weeks.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb