Goodbye to Thai...Hello Athena...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
August 4th 2006
Published: August 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It was sad leaving Thailand...I loved it there so much. My current ranking of the countries we visited so far is Thailand, China, Japan, South Korea.

In Ko Pha Ngan we stayed at this really cool Cabana and met a lot of fun people. The highlight of my time there was definitely the night of the Half Moon Party. We went to the party with our Cabana friends and most of the staff. We were in this big hooked up van with a karoake machine in the back and were passing around a bucket of Samsung Whiskey and Coke and a water bottle filled with something i am still not quite sure of. The driver was awesome and he was even participating in the pail passing. Only in Thailand would you encourage your driver to drink and cheer him on. In the travel books it actually states "Try not to drink and drive" so its ok if you drink and drive, as long as you try not to. It sounds bad but we really werent in any danger it was a short ride to the party.

The actual Half Moon party was fun as well although I dont remember much of the night after probably the 3rd or 4th bucket was passed around to me. I was feeling pretty horrible by the end of the night so we didnt get to stay out until morning as I anticipated. We woke up late and missed our ferry back to Koh Samui. The entire bungalow staff and guests were all moping around and hungover from the night before. I had a serious hangover too and spent the day recovering and relaxing.

That night we had to take the later ferry to Koh Samui and did some walking around and shopping in this cute little touristy area filled with bars and shops called Chaweng. The next day we went Elephant treking through the mini-jungle. It was so much fun. I felt sorry for poor little Ellie (yes we named her Ellie, original huh?) having to carry people on her back all day. After we were finished we bought her some bananas and fed her which i could tell she was very thankful for. Later that day we rented motorbikes and did some exploring of the island. Now THAT was scary. Having never ridden a motorbike before, it took a little getting used to for the both of us. Ben almost gave me a heart attack when he went straight over this huge hole which almost sent me flying off the bike. He's not the most careful driver around...We saw some great views of the ocean from the cliffs. I am still a little nautious from the multiple near death experiences but it was so worth it.

Right now we are in Athens and just spent the day exploring the city. Thanks to our trusty tour guide Ed we are now very knowledgeable about ancient Greek history. We saw the Parthenon a couple of Temples, Ancient Agora and The Theater of Dionysos but the most amazing part of the day was the view from the Acropolis. You can see the entire city from up there, it was incredible. After our long tiresome day in the sun we had an authentic Greek meal of Mousakka which kind of looks like lasagna and has layers of meat, eggplants and potatoes. Greek food is great but it still doesn't top Thai food.

In a couple of hours we are off to the crazy party island of Ios via a 7 hour ferry....

Advertisement



7th August 2006

Hello!
Hello Regina! I'm so glad you're having such an awesome time! And thanks for sharing with us! I can't wait to hear all about Greece and Italy! Min
7th August 2006

REGINA MATZABOLLLLLLLA
Regina, I am so proud of you and excited for you! I am glad to hear you are enjoying your trip so far and can't wait to hear more and see all of your pictures! Jen and I just recieved the wedding invites to Farney's wedding. BRicker is going to make sure she can go and I know I am definetly going. I am planning on driving down Friday night and then leaving Sun. We should try and drive together Regina. Also, if you are still planning on going I will get my act together about a place to stay and work on that information, let you know what is up and then reserve stuff for us all. Whatcha think?!?! Otherwise, school is good here and the job is very trying....got bit by my client the other day! hahaha Scott is good and so is the family. I miss you Regina. I will go to call you and realize I can't! sniffle, sniffle!!!! LOVE YOU!!! HAVE FUN! Laura Tell Ben I said hello!
9th August 2006

....Lucky
Wow it sounds like you guys are having such an awesome experience. How great is that! Lil boy and I wish we could have come along. Can't wait to see pictures. Headless lil bro says hello.
9th August 2006

And so the fun continues...
11th August 2006

Ciao Reg!
Hey Regina! I'm glad to hear you're having so much fun. I think you really needed this trip. I just got back from a roadtrip in the midwest. We'll have to get together and share stories sometime... maybe after you get settled in school. TTYL -Dave
14th August 2006

Hey Reggie Reg, It sounds like you are having an incredible time!! I love the stories and photos!! Continue with your travelblog and stories... I enjoy reading them!!! Stay safe and live it up dearie!!! Colleen

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb