Time to take it easy


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
August 20th 2012
Published: August 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Finally arrived at my beach resort on the Thai island of Koh Samui.

Did absolutely nothing yesterday. Full day of sweaty tomb raiding on Saturday did me in so I spent the whole day relaxing, swimming, tanning and I guess preparing for 3 full days of beach bumming haha

Got up early this morning for my ride to the airport and my flight to Samui through Bangkok. No problems although it was all one flight # on Bangkok airways and the first part was delayed a half hour. So I get to Bangkok and have to get off to go through immigration. I go off and do so and nearly miss the flight! Second last person on the bus to the remote stand and off we go again. Bangkok airways is great two one hour flights and got a meal on both. Nothing too substantial but a sandwich and a little quiche and a cake withjuice Water and tea. Not bad me thinks north American airlines could learn something here.

Anyhow arrived to the open air airport and found an ATM to get some Thai Baht, and off in a taxi to the Lawang Resort on Bophut beach. Was hoping it was a little more upscale but not too bad for 40$ a night, AC, fridge, safe, on the main road with lots of restaurants and shops around. Of course as soon as I step out the door it starts to pour the heaviest kinda rain even the umbrella wasn't helping but ducked under an awning for a few mins till it passed. Went to the family mart (convenience store) and got a cup of pork noodles, bag oflobster hot plate chips and a liter of sweet delicious milkdoor supper.

Now relaxing on my balcony before bed. Beach is a two minute walk so I'm gonna hang there tomorrow then probably rent a motorbike on Wednesday to have a look around the island. It's 100 km around the ring road apparently so not a small island but very developed lots of resorts and lots of traffic. Fingers crossed for no accidents haha

Home In A week!

Advertisement



20th August 2012

This is the life!
Sounds like you're unwinding a bit now better enjoy the last week being kind to yourself. For heaven sake be careful on that motor bike. I hope the trip around the island will be on quiet roads -- it IS a big island all right. Missed you --it will be nice to have you home again. My parking permit (disabled) fell off the dash and, as luck would have it, I got a $400 ticket. Now I have to trust I can wade through the red tape to protect myself! In other words, I want to get away without paying $400. Bye for now, drive safely, Nan

Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb