Ko Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
February 19th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I only spent about 5 nights on Ko Lanta, and I didnt want to leave! I loved it there! Relaxing all day, meeting great people, and of cause the people at the place I stayed were great! I stayed at a place called "Lanta Family Resort". At first I wasnt sure about it, It was a long way from town, and It was a different beach to where I sayed last time. But it was the best! nice rooms, friendly staff, and an all over great feel!

Kris I know your going to get mad at me, but I had the best Pasta I have ever had at the place I stayed. I know it sounds wierd, Getting pasta in Thailand, but the cheff was Italian! And WOW...It was great!

Anyway I started to head North towards Ko Samui on Wed and wouldnt you guess it, the travel agent lied to me, But no one is suprised there are they? The classic line, "the bus goes straight to Surat Thani, where you will catch the boat to Ko Samui, you will be in Ko Samui by 4..." Yeah right! 6.30 comes, and im still sitting at Surat Thani, waiting for the 4th bus to take me to the boat, after already changing at Krabi, and at another place I dont know where, but seemed a bit of a wierd place to stop! But hey, What else do you expect when you travel in a place like Thailand? I dont know why I keep falling for it!

But When I finally got to Ko Samui I was greatful to finally have some taxi drivers offer to take me to my room....for a fortune! luckly I saw a sign saying bus 60 B it saved me 500 B!!! or AU$20.

Well I finally got to a bed, Its nothing special, just a double be with a fan. But it felt so good to fall asleep in after traveling for 12 hours. This morning my friend arrived and we decided rather then hiring a scooter, we would take on the roads with a big bike! and we had fun, I couldnt think of a better way to spend the day! driving around the coast of Thailands biggest Island, with a nice Cruiser to flog! The Gulf of Thailand on one side, and the magnificent mountains on the other! Nothing sepperated the green from the blue what so ever and as I said, it was bloody great!

They say that Ko Samui has the highest Death toll due to Road accidents in all of Thailand, and I can see why! The Over confident, white men, who have driven a bike back home, assume they can drive like a Thai Taxi driver! THEY CANT!!! evey single one of these idiots that flew past me in the opisite direction were an accident waiting to happen! Inface, I had to avoid quite a few near head on's just because they had seen a few people cross the centre line, and think they can do the same. The major difference...The Thai people that drive like that, they have being driving a scooter since they were probably 9...... and they know that on a scooter/bike, you DO NOT have right of way what so ever! In fact you have no rights on the road what so ever! if you think that big semi trailer flying towards you is going to move just because there a over confident ferang on a bike trying to show off.....you have another thing comming! But as they say, stupid is, stupid dose!!!!

well thats my rant for today, as you may have being able to tell, I had to avoid way to many accidents today, just because people have no idea how to drive....but anyway. I am Moving on to Ko Pha-Ngan tomorrow, I will let you all know how that goes... Im so glad its not full moon!!!!!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb