Happy Loy Krathong!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
November 16th 2005
Published: November 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Despite November being the rainy monsoon month in Ko Samui, we awoke to another very sunny and beautiful morning on the island. Today is Loy Krathong, one of the most important holidays in the kingdom. This evening at dusk, Colin and I will travel to Big Buddha Beach at the northeast end of the island to watch as Thais and tourists launch krathongs into the ocean. Krathongs are small floating objects built of banana leaves, paper, or even bread and contain offerings, incense and always candles. The idea is to float away your difficulties in life and wish for great times ahead. I haven't seen krathongs for sale and I'm not artistic enough to build my own, so we will probably just watch.

We went to bed early last night. We were both drained and needed a good rest. Before bed, we met and talked to Jessie, a Swiss girl about Colin's age and her boyfriend. Jessie said the mosquitos were eating her alive although I haven't seen or felt one yet. We gave her Colin's 100% DEET and told her it may give her cancer but the bugs won't come within 100 feet of her. Hopefully it helps.

Very quite and lazy morning so far. We had breakfast early at 7 a.m. since we didn't go out drinking last night. Then we laid out for about an hour and I've been playing around with the advanced settings on my camera that I've been too busy to learn about the past few months. Colin has gone shopping now and since shopping isn't my thing, I'm blogging. We've both stayed within our budgets very well. It is very difficult to spend $50/day in Thailand as we budgeted for. I think I may go out and buy some gifts for folks back home later in the week. I have plenty of room in my suitcase since I packed light and am able to have full laundy service for 40 cents a pound here.

Later this morning and afternoon, I think I'll work out, have Thai food for lunch, snorkel to the island about 1/2 mile away from the beach, tan, have a manicure and facial (never had a manicure before and unfortunately I still bite my nails), and then take a nap. It's a hard life! We need to sleep this afternoon because we won't be able to come back from the Full Moon Party on the large island to the north of here until at least 3 a.m. We leave for the party at 8:00 p.m.

Today's Full Moon Party and Loy Krathong celebrations are the highlights of our trip and the reason we chose to go to Thailand this week. Today is the first day of the second half of our trip before we return home on Sunday. We leave Ko Samui to return to Bangkok late Saturday evening. Fortunately, our hotel is allowing us to remain in our room until we leave for $15 extra. Check-out is normally at noon. It will be sad to leave such a wonderful place but I'll be bringing home some great photos, memories, and gifts for people back home.

With our time in Thailand half over, I have to say that we are very very happy we came here and will be coming back. Despite the high cost of the airplane ticket ($900) and 24 hour flight, Thailand is an amazing place and super affordable once you're here. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Advertisement



16th November 2005

your stay on the island
Hi, sounds like you both are having an enjoyable and relaxing vacation. You deserve it! Nothing new here except it has turned cold with snow flurries expected pretty much all week and 2 inches predicted for Higgins Lake today. So, enjoy your warm sunny beach! Take care. Love, mom
16th November 2005

Brady, I've enjoyed reading this blog all week. Sounds like you're having a great time! Have a safe trip home and I will see you after Thanksgiving.

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb