Koh Samui


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
August 20th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The boat over from Phangan to Samui took about an hour, and we managed to find a group of hotels together, all offering rooms for the same rate, so had a butchers at all of them and chose the best one. It was right next door to Pizza Hut, which suited Danny B. We were staying on Chaweng beach.

Whilst we didn't venture much outside of the beach area, and the strip of bars and restaurants along the street running parrallel with the beach, and so I can't say much about the rest of the island, I didn't rate Samui. It is very developed, and the beach was always very busy, with someone trying to sell you something every 5 minutes.

The nightlife was OK, but after the full moon it didn't really compare. One night we met a couple of lads from Bristol Uni that were in our year and in mine and Will's hall, which was random. When everything shut at about 3am, it was off to a hotel down the road, the only place open.

One night I was walking back to the hotel when I got chatting to these Austrian lads, who were being chatted up by a couple of lady boys. Because they had no clue that these girls were really boys, I decided to enlighten them, and happily went on my way. About 5 minutes later, 2 lady boys on mopeds almost crashed into me screaming "Why'd you say?". At first I didn't know what was going on, then I realised. One of them got off the moped and tried to attack me. Now when being attacked my a lady boy, it's hard to know what to do. Do you fight back, because after all they are men with gender issues, or run away? I ran away.

Will found me about half an hour later hiding in the room and found it hilarious. I was glad that I was leaving for Bangkok the next day, as I didn't fancy another encounter with the he-shes, or is it she-hes?

The other lads realised that they could squeeze an extra night on Samui if they took the same transport back to Bangkok that we'd used on the way down. Being extremely short of money, I found out that I could do an 18 hour monster overnight for half the price, also saving on accommodation, so I said my goodbyes to the lads and began the lone ranger effort which would last until I met up with Paul in Cambodia on the 23rd August. The lads were very sad to see me go.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb