HellOOOOO Diving!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Samui
July 23rd 2005
Published: August 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

The 3 MusketeersThe 3 MusketeersThe 3 Musketeers

From Right-Left, Bogdan,Travis and yours truly. Suited up in wet suits :)
To those who are faithful followers of my travel blogs, I wish to apologise for the lack of any new entries in the past 1.5 weeks, all I can say is that I had a real busy time and was really hard pressed to find the time to take written notes of what had happened. To those who are interested, this was what happened……

I had been boxing for almost 3 weeks and am glad to have seen progress in my fitness and techniques, however there is burning feeling to do something more, do expand my experience in Samui and not just limit it to boxing, no matter how much I love it.

I’ve always been curious to try diving and while talking to a fellow boxer from Sweden, the way he described diving was just too irresistible not to give it a try. I decided to begin on my PADI Open Water Course.

The first day was merely theory courses that stretched from morning till mid afternoons, it seemed like it would never end. I watched video after video of slow moving diving flims where PADI tried to make the dry (but important) content of diving more
This Little Light of Mine....This Little Light of Mine....This Little Light of Mine....

I'm gonna let it SHINE! my mag lite providing that source of comfort for 4 hrs while i bathed, took a crap..etc etc :D
palatable to a thrill seeking individual looking to get an Open Water Course license. PADI failed, it was boring like hell and the instructor was amused when he caught me sleeping a few times. Typical Singaporean student…heh

Travis, a fellow South African boxer and a Bogdan, a Romanian Swedish psychiatrist made up the rest of my course mates. My instructor, Steve (SA-TEEV pronounced thai style) was more than amused at this interesting mix of new students. Bogdan, true to the first impression of a doctor, had studied the theory book before the class and had did self study on his worksheets, was furiously questioning Steve like as if he were in a clinic. Travis, nervous about everything, was as blur as sotong, and me, just cant be bothered lets get on with the program dude.

We finally finished the first day painful day of diving and was pleased to begin pool training. We basically just took all our equipment to a deep end of a pool and begin making mock ascents and descents and practiced our emergency drills. We mucked around the pool till 3 and returned back to our apartments, with the promise that the next day of open water diving in the sea would more than make up for the boring experience of the first 2 days. It couldn’t be more true……

On a side note, when I got back to my apartment that night at 11pm, I was standing in front of my balcony with my shirt off and looking out to the main highway when the large electric cables just hanging out of my balcony snapped. It emitted a blinding bright blue bolt of electrical flame that seemed explode in all directions right in front of me. With a loud moaning sound, the whole cable collapsed on the signage below my balcony that signified the stoppage of electricity to come for the next 4 hours.

My Mag-light in my pouch finally paid off! 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb