Walking in the rain


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
August 6th 2013
Published: August 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

When I woke up this morning it was pouring with rain, so I thought I will just lie here until it stops!! However it didn't stop and I was getting quite hungry so put on my plastic coat and took the plunge so to speak. The place I am staying is on the side of a hill with forty steps up to my room, the first six steps I managed easily, the remaining thirty four were like a waterfall, but I was hungry so continued on driven by an empty stomach. The next part of the walk was like wading through s stream, I lost both sandals so decided not to bother and just went barefoot it was a lot easier.

A little further down the path slopes downhill, the stream became faster flowing and deeper by this time the water was over my feet and up to my ankles, I hadn't anticipated a swim before breakfast but it looked like it might be on the cards if things got much worse.

On rounding the corner at the lowest point the water came half way up my shins, thankfully after this it was uphill, phew.

Breakfast was good and I now the energy to wade back through the raging torrents back to my room. The journey was much the same, maybe slightly deeper water. I decided I had, had enough water for one morning and sat on my balcony out of the rain and read my book. At lunchtime the rain stopped and amazingly as quickly as it flooded the water subsided. The sun did come out for a little while but it remained overcast for much of the day.

Thought I would share this with you as everyone thinks travelling is just one big holiday where the sun shines all the time.

Advertisement



6th August 2013

My heart bleeds for you!!!!!

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb