On to Koh Phi Phi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
December 8th 2011
Published: December 8th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello hello everyone, sending you my best wishes from the sunny island of Koh Phi Phi, Thailand!

The island itself is covered in mountains, rainforest and beautiful beaches and only very small parts of it are actually inhabited by people and tourists. Many resorts are so closed off, the only way to reach them is by long boat taxis. There are no roads on Koh Phi Phi so if you want to go anywhere you have to walk, cycle, swim or get a long boat which is really refreshing compared with the busy polluted city of Bangkok!

Since we have been here we have mostly lazed about on the beach, making sure to keep topped up on the sun tan lotion and have unfortunately been bitten around 40 times!! My legs look like an albino dalmation and the itching really is the only think I can think of!! I've still had a funny tummy since we left home and although I thought it had gone it seems to have come back in force today. Sophie thinks perhaps I've had too much sun so I am going to stay in the shade for the reaminder of the day. Our beach hut is adorable but very basic which is fine if you dont mind cold showers and sandy sheets. We are a couple of feet from the main beach itself which is awfully convenient alas, the parties continue until the very late hours of the morning and being a terribly light sleeper I tend to stay awake till then aswell. I did however, buy some earplugs today and the packet says they reduce noise by about 28 decibels, let's hope that's enough to mask the huge amounts of bass from the beach bars!!

Tomorrow, Sophie and I are hoping to get a longboat to monkey beach which is just on the other side of the bay that we are staying on. They will drop us there for a few hours so we can sunbathe and see the monkeys and just explore a different part of the island. This evening I think we are treating ourselves to a nice restaurant along the beachfront with maybe a few beers.

We are staying here till the 17th of Decemeber as that is when our hotel in Koh Samui is booked for over Christmas. However, we only have a room here until the 13th so we may in fact head over to Samui early or even stop off in Phuket for a few days instead.

Hope you are all well, that's everything with me for the moment. Take care and I'll write again soon!

Oh and also my Skype is "sarah.amelia.hunt" incase anyone wanted to add me. I am on quite often but it will be either early in the morning or late in the evening your time.

Lots of love

Yours Travelling

Sarah x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb