Asia Tour Leg 8, Day 23 Epilogue


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
April 10th 2010
Published: April 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I actually managed to rise before 9am, I had no choice actually as I needed to check out of my bungalow. As predicted it was a late night last night. I went to the usual bar and we had a bit of a party night until we were interrupted by a pretty spectacular thunderstorm and rain that came down so hard it would make your head bleed! We were plunged into darkness and couldn’t see a thing but we all carried on drinking and enjoying ourselves.

I caught the late ferry back and met someone who lived in Windsor but frequently made trips to Derby for work, in fact we talked the whole way back which was cool as it made the trip go quickly. After the ferry I checked back into the hotel I had stayed at previously in Patong. I plan to go out tonight and do some shopping and have a few drinks and then get my head down. I have a taxi booked for 5.30am to take me to the airport and from that point I begin what I think is going to be about a 27 hour trip back to the UK (including waiting at airports).

It’s hard to sum up my experience of this tour in few words as it’s delivered such a lot, from the rich history and culture of China, the many nationalities of Malaysia, the mayhem of the quickly developing Vietnam to the chilled out atmosphere and lush greenery mixed with the white sandy beaches of Thailand. I planned this tour and got everything I needed and more, Asia really is a fascinatingly beautiful land. It’s been a great trip for character building as well. I’ve really enjoyed meeting so many great people from all over the world and some I’ll remember for a long time to come, some I may even see again and this is another element in this tour being such a great trip. If the circumstances are right then I’d definitely come out here again, different countries of course but I have an appetite to discover more. Before I came out I wondered whether I might consider myself as well travelled, but when you look at the size of this planet the truth is that I haven’t even scratched the surface!! I hope you’ve all enjoyed reading the blogs, I’ll drink to that!






Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.12s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb