Flicking the B's


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia
February 22nd 2012
Published: February 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've decided to pick 2 countries for my latest trip. The first one being Borneo, specifically to see the orangutans and the second destination was unknown at the time of departure. As this blog has only been recorded today (26th) I now know my second destination, Bali. And I've literally just arrived here.

Luckily I'd made notes on each days activities. Now I've found a place with Internet access I can just paste everything in. Here goes.........

Its took over 18 hours to get here but first impressions are that it's worth the hassle. The 12 hour flight to Kuala Lumpur threw up its usual interesting conversations, this time with a man from Greenland who was going on a cycling holiday to Vietnam, I had a few chats with him about this and that before immersing myself in various films whilst the cheeky git shoulder surfed me and watched them too.... I was thinking of asking him what he wanted to watch next but didn't think he understand the sarcasm. To be fair he was a nice bloke though.
My "red carpet" upgrade for the next flight to Borneo was an interesting experience. I upgraded as it allowed me a late check in which I needed as there was only 1.5 hours between landing from London and checking in to the next flight. What I failed to realise was that the flights were at different airports in Kuala Lumper. I hired a driver to get me to the other airport quick (£10.00) and for that he also commandeered a golf buggy to get to his car. This was actually driven through the airport terminal with me on the back! Once I checked in I also found that "red carpet" features a real red carpet at checkin. A chaperone all the way to the plane, priority security clearance, priority boarding and as much beer, tea and breakfast you can handle.... All for £20.00! I'm now lay on my bed cooling down. I have spent the afternoon sunbathing on a small wooden veranda positioned high up looking down on the basin of the jungle. Absolutely no need for music as I can hear monkeys, various birds, crickets, the whole lot. The jungle really does provide an amazing sound track, although I expect I'll be shitting myself come nightfall.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb