Thailand - Koh Phi Phi


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another experience with the travelling! The Aussie girls last night weren't wrong!!
We were picked up from our hotel at 6.30am, were taken to the pier to get our boat to mainland Thailand, which was ok. We then got 3 different minibuses to Krabi to get another boat to Phi Phi. The first minibus kicked us off because they were blasting Thai music through the speakers while people were trying to sleep & some people complained. So they pulled up at the side of the road & told us all to get off!! So we had to wait for another one and then were dropped off at another random place while we waited for a third! Once in Phi Phi, we were prepared to do a 15min walk with our backpacks to get to our accommodation, but we were met by a guy with like a massive wheelbarrow! He put our bags in there so thankfully we didn't have to carry them! When we got to our hotel, never seen anything like it, they are bungalows all dotted over hills with a ton of steps to climb! Ma-ney resort. We are definitely going to get fit walking up and down these steps, it's like a full blown workout!
After we'd all showered (the girls had a stupid trickle of a shower!!) we headed out to find some food. We found a lovely place to eat and everything was gorgeous, until I had pancakes with banana & choc sauce for dessert & half way through, I saw a fly in my choc sauce! Nice! I complained & said I wasn't paying & the waiter just nodded as if it was perfectly normal!! The pancake was so good up until then too!! We then went to an Irish Bar and surprise surprise, we got drunk haha. There's quite a few English people here & we were told that last week there was another Tsunami warning (this island was the worst hit in 2004) and everyone was climbing buildings! All the music in all the bars stops at 1am as on Christmas Day there was a shooting on the beach and someone died, so they're doing it to try and stop the trouble. The bar still has police tape all around it!

Hangovers don't seem to exist in Thailand, result! We laid on the beach all day going in and out of the sea, lovely! We think it's been about 40degrees today. The sea smells like poo lol, but the sand is nice!! I had to buy a bikini today (shame!) because I put all my washing in at the hotel and they said it would be ready this morning, but wasn't, so I didn't have any to wear! Possibly the best bikini I have ever bought!! I'm starting to really peel from my burn a few days ago, not really a good look! This evening we booked a trip for tomorrow which sounds really good. Me & Becca were chatting to an English guy working in an Irish bar with a Scottish tattoo earlier & he was saying he had all his tattoos in a place down the st, so he's showing us where later! More drinks were consumed tonight, it's dirt cheap, would be rude not to. No flies in my dinner which was good!
I had a nice mosquito infested shower tonight, they're everywhere! I actually had to keep filling up a water bottle with the tap to wash myself with as our shower is so pathetic!

Today has been so good. The boat trip was immense. We were on a gondola type of boat! Me & Becca were sat at the front catching the rays! First stop was snorkelling at Shark Point, then Bamboo Island for lunch. While there, me & Becca were sunbathing when our guide took us for a walk around the island. Possibly the most gorgeous place ever. The sand is like flour & the sea is crystal clear. We went to a really secluded part of the island and apparently in the mornings, the sharks swim there. We then headed to Mosquito Island for some more snorkelling & then to a cove for some more, where there were barracuders, then on to Monkey Island where the monkies are just wandering around & we fed them banana!! Afterwards, we went to The Beach and chilled out before heading back to the sea to watch the sunset. Once back & all showered, we headed our for dinner. We bumped into John from the Irish Bar and he took us to the tattoo parlour.... One thai whiskey bucket, 2 large beers & 1000baht later I have my name in Thai on my wrist! I had it translated when in Kanchanaburi & when I went here tonight, I wrote my name down & asked him to translate it & he did it exactly the same, so I know it's safe. I had it done with a bamboo and it doesn't hurt as much as a normal tattoo. I love it! Was so scared beforehand but it looks so cool. Becca has "Nirvana" on her wrist. Which has some Buddha meaning.
There was a huge spider in the bathroom sink tonight & none of us wanted to go near it, so Becca braved it, naked! And smahed it with her flip flop but it didn't die, so I drowned it and put the plug in the sink so it couldn't come back up haha.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb