Diving Trip, Ko Phi Phi, January 5, 2010


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
January 5th 2010
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Diving Trip, Ko Phi Phi, January 5, 2010

"I think we all now that I'm a little behind on my blogs, and now I'm playing some serious catch up, lol!! Reminds me of my scholar days!! It's the 8th today, and I'm uploading this blog from a great little villa restaurant in Bangkok, nice breeze, nice music, surrounded by strangers from all over the place, and oh ya, I'm having some pad that with shrimp. Just thought I'd share!!"

We loved Samui so much we decided to an extra day!! Seems like I’m falling in love with a lot of places over here.

Today we went on a diving trip out to Ko Phi Phi. We didn’t have enough time to stay a night on Phi Phi, so we decided on this diving trip, which also included some sightseeing of the island.
Ko Phi Phi actually consists of 2 islands; Ko Phi Phi Don, and Ko Phi Phi Leh. Don has all the resorts, and accommodations, and Leh is more of a rugged island with beautiful scenery. Bits of the move “The Beach” were filmed on Ko Phi Phi Leh.

5 years ago the tsunami really leveled this island. It was WIPED out, everything was destroyed.

We actually did our diving just south of the Phi Phi islands. Once again the dives were great. We did a morning and afternoon dive, and this time we got to see more sea life. A jelly fish swimming around, 2 leopard sharks, about a thousand little nemo’s roaming around, and we even got swim through an underwater cave which was really cool.

These diving trips are a really great way of breaking up the beach time. You spend most of the day on a boat, you meet people from all over, and they even feed us breakfast and lunch (they actually arranged for a picnic lunch on a beach).

I’m up to 6 dives in my log book now, only 64 more before I can apply for my dive master, lol!!
The sightseeing was really nice. We stopped off at Maya Bay (The Beach), Viking Cove, and Monkey Beach. Monkey Beach was really fun. We pulled up and got to feed the monkeys! They literally swarmed the boat, and grabbed the bananas. I got a really good video clip of the whole thing; I’ll try to upload it onto the blog site!

January 5th, and time is ticking!! I don’t believe it’s almost been a month. We’re flying back to Bangkok on the 7th, and then it’s back home, !!



Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb