Boat Tour to Phi Phi Islands,


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
October 15th 2009
Published: October 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Phi Phi Islands are amazing. I just arrived in my bungalow here on Koh Phi Phi Don, that means big island. (see video) Early this morning I woke up and toured the market in Phuket town, (see video) before the boat tour started. The tour was amazing. I have never seen anything like it. Limestone rock juts straight from the emerald waters of the Andaman sea towards the sky.

Our first stop was to Phi Phi Lae, which means small island. The boat first stopped at Viking Cave where locals risk their lives to harvest bird nests. The nests are made into a soup, on nest can fetch a daring entrepreneur nearly 200,000 baht. The tour then carried us into one of Lae’s bays. We jumped off the boat and into the waters where one, during low tide, can climb a rope ladder, and with a short five minute walk end up in Maya bay. Maya bay is where the movie the Beach was filmed; Maya bay was our next stop. The place was quite crowded for as small as it was but awe inspiring none the less. We didn’t have much time here, I plan to spend a few
Viking CaveViking CaveViking Cave

This is the cave where bird nests are harvested.
hours there before my trip here ends, it was enough to take some photos of the scenery and the aquatic life. (see photos)

Next we went to Monkey bay. Monkey bay has? Yes, monkeys, very good. Brave little monkeys. Some of the monkeys have learned to swim to the boats where they are all but guaranteed a reward of bananas that the tour guides bring to coax the monkeys from their trees. As our tour guide informed us, big balls means head monkey. Thank you Sangwit.

I ended this tour at Koh Phi Phi Don. I ate with the group and made my way to my bungalow on the beach. The group will continue their tour, ending back in Phuket.

That is enough for now. I need to be outside.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Back FlipBack Flip
Back Flip

I did complete this if you were wondering.
Tsunami Warning!Tsunami Warning!
Tsunami Warning!

In case it wasn't obvious, if you see a big ass wave coming your way run to higher ground.


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb