The Andaman Gems of the South... Ko Phi Phi and Railay


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
February 19th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ko Phi Phi LeiKo Phi Phi LeiKo Phi Phi Lei

Home to where "The Beach" was filmed.
After seeing the sights, meeting some great people, and having some amazing times on the islands of the Gulf of Thailand, it was time for me to make my way to the other side to check out the wonders of the Andaman Sea. With rumors of even clearer water and more amazing beaches, I was quite excited!

My first stop was the infamous Ko Phi Phi Don. However, before I could get there, I had a roundabout ferry and bustrip which would take almost the entire day. My last stop before Ko Phi Phi was a small town called Krabi. Its more of a port town with not a whole lot to see and do, but it did have a cool night food market where I was able to get some good grub for very cheap. I managed to get a very cheap room ($3.50 CAN), had a good sleep and made my way to the ferry terminal in the morning to catch the sights of Ko Phi Phi. On my ferry ride I managed to meet a group of Norwegians who were very friendly and made the 2 hour trip go by a little quicker.

Once I arrived
Ton Sai BeachTon Sai BeachTon Sai Beach

The "main strip" of Ko Phi Phi
at Ko Phi Phi I said goodbye to the Norwegians and was looking forward to getting settled. I checked into my hostel where I stayed in a 16 person dorm for about 8$ CAN per night, which is quite cheap for Phi Phi standards. Then I walked around in the labyrinth of little side streets and explored all of the shops and some of the beaches. Phi Phi has a neat vibe, although very touristy and busy, it has no cars or motorbikes, so walking the streets (paths) is quite enjoyable. After walking around for a bit I booked another scuba dive trip, to practice my skills and see what the Andaman waters had to offer.

Getting the Scuba gear back on and getting ready to jump back into the water was a really neat experience. Our first dive was great and I got to see a lot of the same fish as I did in Ko Tao, and some new ones as well! However, after hearing rumors of seeing sharks, I was ready to see some real fish! Our second dive was great too, however, because of the full moon and high winds from the night before, the
United NationsUnited NationsUnited Nations

Chile, Canada, Japan and Poland
visibility was extremely poor. That said, I still got to swim with a couple of turtles, which was really amazing!

After diving, I went back to the hostel and planned my next few days. After I was almost done, a random dude came up to me and in broken English asked if I wanted to check out some of the sights with him as he was traveling alone. After accepting his offer I asked where he was from and he replied that he was from Poland and his name was Charles. I was kind of excited about that because being half Polish, I felt as if there was a little bit of a bond there. So we went our separate ways to run some errands and when I came back to meet him he had met another friend from Japan, Kenji, who also spoke very little English. I also felt a bit of a bond with him because I took Japanese in high school. So we were now a team of 3 and checked out the town together and began speaking the international language.... Drinking! We went to a cool bar called "Rolling Stoned" and rocked out to a
Monkeys!Monkeys!Monkeys!

People gave anything to these monkeys, I kind of felt a little bit sorry for them.
great live band. I even bumped into the Norwegian group I had met on the ferry! We then made our way to the beach where there was a DJ playing and partied some more. But, my responsibility factor kicked in and at about 4am, I decided to get back to the hostel for some shuteye as my tour of the surrounding islands left at 9am.

When my alarm went off at 8am it was not a pleasant feeling. I nudged Charles and he mumbled "I not go this morning." So I left out by myself. My boat trip included seeing the surrounding Islands and sights of Ko Phi Phi Ley (where the beach was filmed), Bamboo Island, and Monkey Beach. I got to see some really cool beaches, do some snorkeling, and got to feed some monkeys bananas from my hand. It was a great day. But, unfortunately after that it was time to say goodbye to Phi Phi and my foreign friends and head to Railay, which is another cool beach town. I was only staying there a few days as I was nearing time to go home, but it was a great place. I had a bungalow
Bamboo IslandBamboo IslandBamboo Island

Probably one of the nicest beaches/Islands I have seen on the trip.
in the jungle for a reasonable price. At night I would head down to the beach and hang out at the many chill out bars that lined it. They had cool cushions and chill out areas and played some cool chill out house music and reggae. I met an American couple (which were actually quite tolerable) from San Francisco and we shared some drinks and laughs. I would not have been laughing as much if I knew what was going to hit me the following morning. I'll spare you the details, but lets just say that I woke up with the worst food poisoning in my life that morning. If you want to know what hell is like, come talk to me as I think I have visited there first hand.

After another painful boat ride (I may or may not have been sick during it) I arrived in Ao Nang, a city near Krabi, which has a cool beach as well. Unfortunately I didn't see anything here, and the only activity I managed to get up to was going to the pharmacy, laying in bed, watching TV (yes I have HBO at this place), and writing this blog.
On the way to RailayOn the way to RailayOn the way to Railay

Railay is famous for its rock climbing
But, I am feeling better this morning and my flight leaves back to Bangkok this afternoon. Then, I stay one more night in Bangkok and my flight leaves Friday, Feb 20th morning at 830am.

This will probably be my last entry of the blog, but I just wanted to say that this has been one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I was nervous about traveling alone, but it has turned out to make the experience just that much more special. Meeting people from around the world and establishing friendships with them has been one of the best parts of the journey. I have also been able to miss home a little bit, and although it may sound strange, I am looking forward to not sweating the minute I wake up until the minute I go to bed. I want to thank all of the people I've met along the way for making this experience so memorable.

Also, thanks to everyone who has read my entries and who has left comments. It helped me when times were lonely and always gave me a smile. Some of my entries have been quite long, but I'm glad that
Jungle Hut!Jungle Hut!Jungle Hut!

This was my accomodations in Railay
some people have found them interesting. I miss everyone and look forward to seeing you when I get home on Friday at around 11am!

Take care!
-J


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Ton Sai BeachTon Sai Beach
Ton Sai Beach

This was the beach that I stayed at.
More amzing sunsetsMore amzing sunsets
More amzing sunsets

Ton Sai beach offered a pretty nice sunset as well!


19th February 2009

WELCOME HOME!!!!
My Dearest Jay Joseph, As you have been experiencing a trip of a lifetime, we have all been sitting back here in our parkas, enjoying the mundane joys of our lives here in the lower mainland. People have been showing their love for each other more than usual in the last month that you have been away, so much so, that Wal-mart has put a "red light" special on the midnight madness sale tonight of bullet proof vests...in fact, if you buy one, I do believe you get the next one absolutely free. I think I am going to try and get there early to get a good parking spot....hmmmmm on second thought, since I will be going to the mall without a vest ........I had better take the bus.....don't want to take any chances. I can relate to some of your experiences you have been enjoying, why just yesterday, I too was in the supermarket when a lady came up and spoke to me in "broken English", but I must say I didn't feel the bond like you did. I do believe Jimbo gave you strict instructions about the monkeys,.feeding or otherwise.....We are all still in search of our "sweat glands", seems they disappeared last July not to have been experienced since...probably won't be until this July that anyone sees them again!!!It has been a real joy reading about your adventures...I am going to miss it, which is why I would like to suggest you write about your "Life in Port Coquitlam"..I think that would make a great blog too!! I am so thrilled, as I know Momma Chris must be too, that you made it through your adventure safe and sound, Welcome back to the real world, don't be a stranger!! Big Hug to follow...Much Love Momma Kerr xxooxxooo

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb