Survival of the Fittest


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
February 12th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, the Full Moon Party has come and gone, and I am glad to report that I am safe and sound without any injuries or ailments aside from a bit of a hangover that I experienced the following day. I wanted to write a quick entry just to share the news and to prevent you all from worrying... well mainly just you, Mom and Dad. We had a large group from Bottle Beach who we nicknamed the Bottle Beach 10, and we started out on a 1 hour drive along a bumpy road on our way to Haad Rin Beach. We would do roll calls shouting out numbers every little while to make sure we were all still in the ranks. I couldn't have shared the experience with better people. Our group included 6 English and 4 Canadians and our one Thai staff member from Bottle Beach who partied harder than all of us put together. Oddly enough, 3 of the us were all from the lower mainland. You travel across the globe and end up partying with people 30 minutes from your own doorstep... strange.

But anyway, unfortunately I won't be including any pictures in this post, but I think if you let your imagination run wild, it might even be better, as the pictures I took really wouldn't have done the experience much justice. But picture a party warzone... because thats pretty much exactly what it was. As we were entering Haad Rin beach, where the party takes place, there was one irresponsable party goer being dragged out by his arms, head down, vomit spilling from his mouth as early as 10pm. There were first aid tents scattered along the beach like you would see behind a battlefield. And on the beach, were 15,000 partier soldiers all doing battle to electronic music... well maybe that last line was a bit of a stretch, but the experience was truly intense. There were many casualties either passed out on the sand, huddled around tables, or being cared for under first aid tents, while people danced to about 6 different sound stages which had speakers that seemed like they were stories high. As you walked closer to the water the crowd thinned, but there were loads of people, guys and girls alike relieving themselves in the water. The entire thing was quite a sight.

Thankfully, we managed to party from 10pm to 6am and all of our Bottle Beach 10 managed to survive the entire experience and all were able to walk away from it by their own power.

It was sad to say goodbye to my new friends, but I am looking forward to my next journey. I am currently in Krabi, which will be the staging ground for my next trip to Ko Phi Phi where I will check out more beaches, do some more diving and see where that takes me. I miss you all, but am having a fantastic time and being very safe!

For those of you who are wondering, I'll be back on February 20th and my flight arrives at about 9am, wierd to say that there are only 7 days left! Look forward to seeing you all to share some good stories and pictures!

-J

Advertisement



13th February 2009

Coming home party?
Jay, First off, on behalf of all your friends at home, we miss you!!! Secondly, i just realized that it is no coincidence that you get home on a Friday, what a perfect day for a shhhhaaakkkker!! I won't take....I'm tired, I'm tired of drinking, I'm hung over, or I'm jet lagd. We are getting hammered!! Cya soon buddy, miss you! Mike
13th February 2009

Hells yes!
Of course Groffer, I am definitely down for some bevies the Friday of my return, I may or may not have planned it that way ;) Luckily my flight gets home on the 20th early in the morning... So I am ready when you are ready... That is, if you're up to it! hahaha, love u bro!

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb