PP= Paradise


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
October 17th 2005
Published: October 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dive siteDive siteDive site

Bida Nok- our first dive site. The limestone cliffs extend down to the sea floor.
Last night I fell asleep to the sound of the frogs in the nearby woods, and woke to roosters and the sounds of thai children playing. I'm really enjoying the location and simplicity of where I am right now- For $6.25 I get my modest 12 foot square room with oscillating fan, queen size bed, multitasking bathroom (shower + toilet) and 2 windows with screen. No ants or mozzies (mosquitos) yet, hot water or A/C. The walls are made of stained and thatched bamboo, and thin enough for me to hear the guy coughing next door. Plain, simple and clean. Makes you appreciate everything we have in the States, or helps me to understand all the materialistic nonsense we unnecessarily surround our lives with. No TV, no cell phone, no car... but yes of course I have my music.

This morning I began my Advanced SCUBA certification course. The weather was finally great- a few clouds but around 85 to 90 degrees. Flo, my German diving instructor, was efficient, calm and confident. It had been 6 years!!!! since my last dive. Far too long.

My first dive was a "deep water dive" descending to 100 feet. Things didn't go
On the BoatOn the BoatOn the Boat

With Penny, an Aussie working towards her divemaster license. She helped me out a ton on my first day diving in 6 years!
so well at first- I sank right to the bottom like a rock. (Just kidding... that was for you Mom and Bubby!)

Ok, so this is what really happened. I was a bit nervous going into it, but quickly calmed when it all came back to me again. Scuba diving is one of the coolest things you can ever do people- if you have never tried it, you must. Breathing underwater, floating weightless as life swims past you and all that you hear is your own breathing and bubbles exciting your mouth. We slowly descended to depth... you could feel your lungs contracting from all the pressure. Our instructor cracked a couple eggs are we played with the yolks for a few minutes. At this depth, it took a lot of effort to break them apart! We the did another long dive after a proper Thai lunch. Today was like sticking my head in my fish tank, getting to visit the home that my fishies live in. Highlights included a sea turtle (About 4 feet long), lionfish, and just about everything fish i've ever seen in the salt water store in Rochester.

Just had my laundry done for $2 and and enjoyed a wonderful Masamaun Chicken dinner ($2). You really can't beat it here... so peaceful. Most of what you hear is the swish swish of flip flops on the road... no cars... no need to wear a shirt.

I planned on crossing over to the Gulf of Thailand for the "Full Moon Party". But this place is amazing. Everything I was hoping for. I think i'll stay a few more days before and dive as much as possible before heading up north.

Tonight I'm doing a "night dive" with the same group. Should be great. Hope everyone is doing great!


Advertisement



17th October 2005

Man, this looks awesome. You're really making me want to jump on a plane and fly over there to dive with you (and eat a lot too). Have fun over there. I'll be sitting at the bench pipetting!
17th October 2005

Very cool so, I've read about every blog. Sounds like a great time, makes me want to do the same thing. Traveling leisurely sounds like a dream. Enjoy man, farm
17th October 2005

Good stuff
Hi Sol- I read your past two days blogs about diving and the atmostphere at Phi Phi. Based on your pictures and vivid descriptions I can see why it reminds you of Dahab. It's so nice that you are giving yourself extra time to explore your environment before moving on to the next place. Keep posting- your entries are so descript and interesting and I am really enjoying learning about this part of the world through your eyes. - Melissa
17th October 2005

I've been tracking your trip from the beginning and it sounds like you are having a blast. My brother was in Thailand during the tsunami last December (very scary) and I think it's great that you (and other tourists) are there supporting their economy and helping them to rebuild all that was lost. Keep writing those great journal entries and taking great pictures!
17th October 2005

Wow!
Glad you're having a good time. Sounds like it is really really beautiful. Things are finally cooling down here 70s and 80s and we're begining to enjoy being outside. Leo has a cold though so he sends a snot rocket your way! XO, your sis
18th October 2005

Dude, sounds like you're making a hell of a trip out of it. Now that you've eaten the real deal over there, would you say any of the Thai places in Rochy are even remotely authentic?

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb