On My Own Wings


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Phi Phi Don
June 16th 2007
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Patong Beach was huge fun - my last days with Nadine and Stuart, and we spent it mostly cruising around town as the weather was a overcast. It's like Bangkok-On-Sea, really lively at night and full of people hassling you for suits or tuk tuks by day. Stuart and I did actually buy a suit each, tailor made, quite a fun process of measurements and haggling to make sure we got a good deal (we went to a more expensive shop so we could be sure of the quality).

At night Patong really comes alive with hundreds of restaurants and bars, music spilling out of each to create a hum of excitement all the way down the strip. We got into a slight sticky patch one night however, when we went down a smaller street after reading in my LonelyPlanet that it was a good place to find really good food for cheap - only it seems its the place you go if you want to 'hire' a lady (or ladyboy) for the night! We emerged unscathed however, with our pockets still full.

Yesterday we got a taxi back to Phuket Town Bus station, where we parted ways with a manly hug. It was a sad moment for me as I went swiftly down to the port to catch the next boat leaving for Koh Phi Phi - where I am today. And it's simply amazing - jade waters, stunning views and a real sense of community here. On my first night I met some great guys, an essex lad and a group of four Danes who are all travelling together. Travelling alone means you have to be more assertive and go out of your way to meet people, and I'm really liking that so far. And to be honest, I haven't done much else apart from sit on the beach or meander through the village. Beach life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb