House at Heart


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Pha-Ngan
June 30th 2004
Published: June 30th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Great BayGreat BayGreat Bay

This is Anna who runs the joint. She provides the treats and protects you from the local cops. Awesome gal...
It was hard leaving Koh Phi Phi, this place was absolutely beautiful.  Met some friends along the way, like Lay the local tour guide who was just awesome to us.  Toke us in like family and just showed us the rope.  This guy is one hardcore dude - ex military and ex kickboxer, he was standing on the corel like it was a bed of cotton.  I don't remember much of the daytime in Koh Phi Phi since I pretty much got wasted every single night there except on the last day.  My most memoriable moment was trying to make it to the cave, trying to swim through choppy water at 6PM still banged up from 3 days of partying.  Not smart as I was struggling to get back on the raft and barely had enough energy to hold on for dear life.  The other guys made it, and they said it was awesome, just like int he movie the beach, it was a lagoon and pretty much exactly like the set in the movie.
After drinking a ton of salt water, we get back into town where I just crashed for an hour to get my head in gear.  We went into town and me and Ent went on a rampage on the seafood.  6 Tiger prawn, mussels, and a fish and dessert.  =) Seafood rocks over here, well Griff doesn't like it much as the smell made him sick that night. 
The next day we leave and of course Ent is slow as usual but he says it was Griff that didn't want to wake up.  So me and SQL Dan had breakfast, packed, and whined down abit and met them at the pier.  They barely made it but as usually the power of the Ent comes through.
The journey to Koh Pha Ngan was pretty brutal.  First it was a 2 hour ferry ride, aka detoxing in the cabin.  Then we toke this Shyte bus which a/c was so pathetic, I could of blown more cold air out of my own arse, it was brutal 3 hours to the pier.  On top of that James toke my big bottle of water and me and SQL Dan had to share this 250 ml bottle, which was gone in 5 minutes.  Karma had it for James b/c his a/c didn't work and him and Griff was sitting by this guy who kept dry heving.  Me and SQL Dan got the front seat which was probably the best seat in the house. 
So we get to the pier and James is just super krusty and want to kill someone.  I think he was pretty upset the fat guy on the bus kept sweating over him.
So we had a 2.5 our ferry ride again to Ko Pha Ngan which seem to last an eternity.  Got an hour of sleep and we finally arrived and it felt like Gangs of New  York, when everyone just toke off from the boat. 
We rode on this pretty huge truck and I dont' think it was suppose to fit all 8 ppl with 8 piece of luggage but soemhow we managed to all hop on and Katie was sitting on top of all the luggage. Katie was pretty cool, b/c the first thing she started talkign about was Bud and partying hard.....needless to say we got along pretty quick.
We arrived at the Great Bay resort, this place is a total chill place, and of course they had the "special Menu" which I indulged in the first night.  Sat on the hammock, listening to the waves and smoking a J. Snoop Dog eat your heart out baby.   
Next day, I wake up to find katie sitting there and we talked and she rolled up another J and we smoked it.  The guys got up and they wanted to head into town and I was so stoned I had to ride with SQL Dan.   We went to Hat rin beach and let me tell u this, me and James looked like we just saw a ghost with our jaws dropping to the floor.  I have never seen sooooo much women, wait let me rephrase this b/c this is important to get this event accurate, I have never seen so much european girls, all tanned, bathing suits (optional at times) in one place.  I am just blown away and I think we should of screwed krabi and came straight here, hell even koh phi phi.  So after wiping off the drool with a mop we dared to venture out onto the beach and the first girl we see is not wearing a top.  Okay, I am trying to control myself with very little luck, so I had to get off the beach for abit to cool off and bought myself some beach gear and head back for round 2 and hopefully with abit more composure. 
We settle in and I dont' want to go anywhere now that I have foudn this place.  We see ppl setting up speakers which was probably for a party tonight.
The Night:  So after an awesoem day at the beach, me and SQL Dan got completely lost and it toke us like hours to find our way back.  He didn't remember and I had no recollection b/c from the phattie that morning courtesy of katie.    So we waived a taxi and he followed, and hell we weren't even close.  We finally got there and SQL Dan almost hit the taxi following him so closely but we got home.
We ate and met up with katie again and I had a bucket with her and decided to go to the thai kickboxing tournament.  It was pretty awesome and we saw a couple of guys get knocked out.  I started betting with katie and griff and won both bets, 900 baut wohoo.  After the kickboxing tournament we went to party down in  Had rin and damn man, it was pretty crazy.  I won't go into the details of it but I am dissapointed at the house scene.   Hopefully the fullmoon will rock but if not I will have to  hit the Samui parties on my own.  I haven't yet found an awesome funky house party - I must go to Europe soon for that fix.
The party itself was crazy, everyone is just wasted on buckets.  Me and James watched a few ppl burn themselve tryign to jump through this burning hoop which was entertaining.  What sucked was coming back b/c they totally shut off all the power and it's pitch black.  All you here is drunk english ppl chanting their football song.  so we got out of there.
Must find another place to stay as SQL Dan is leavign tommorrow and I will be stuck on my own once again.  Griff and Ent is sharign a bungalow but mine really sucks so I may go somewhere else and meet up with them later. 
Baggins out
 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb